Birthdays should not be stressful

14 39
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago
Topics: Birthday, Money, Budget, Life, Happiness, ...

What are birthdays for you, anyway? Was it the free food and drinks that you will be able to eat for free? or was it thanksgiving for all the years that had passed and both the mother and the kid were still alive all those years?

Image from unsplash

So I have told you all about my plans for my daughter's upcoming birthday(that was when I was writing this draft, I intended to publish this on the 6th but failed and forgot I have this on Mt drafts.), to be practical I just wanted to give her her ultimate happiness: cake, ice cream, and balloons. She's the star on that day so her happiness should be the one that should be met.

My experiences on birthdays

I have been invited by different people on their birthdays and I was confused why they were stressed out about meeting their guest's expectations rather than enjoying the celebration of the moment that the celebrants were born. I have noticed that some came to the extent of sacrificing the budget they have for tomorrow for the celebration which is not so practical for me.

Life now is so hard, I don't mean to hurt anyone but I prefer to celebrate birthdays with the family alone ever since.

There was that time when my family decided to hold a joint celebration for the August birthdays. My daughter's birthday was on the 7th, my husband was on the 20th, my sister was on 26th, and my nephew was on the 29th. There are four of them that celebrated birth in one night so they slaughtered a pig and roasted it for viand. What's funny is that we invited my husband's co-workers, just a few of them but my family invited a whole lot! I mean that was not the deal. They even invited my uncle who is a pastor, they were obsessed with salvation and letting other people hear about it but I guess birthdays are not the time when you preach about it though it's a great opportunity, of course. And they invited relatives who invited someone over too! I as one of the hosts was stressed if the food would ever b enough for everybody.

But they were doing it very late and the people were very hungry to listen to the preacher nor understand and process it, Imagine, they were there for the physical food; that's what their mind was set on.

In my younger years, during a birthday celebration and the pastor took his time to pray and everyone was hungry, I even heard somebody complaining about how long his prayer was not considering that it was way past eating time. We cannot blame pastors whose faith was that strong but sometimes when you're on the same side as I am, you'd be able to hear those kinds of things.


Those above were the reasons why I have been wanting to celebrate birthdays alone with the family. Imagine how huge will one can save (for the budget) without risking the budget for the next day plus no one will even talk about you behind your back because the salad lacks milk or the viand has too much salt in it. Anyway, people will always have something to say about everything that you do, right?


The stressless birthday!

I love it when the kids will be celebrating birthdays because they don't have to worry about a thing, that's what a call a stressless birthday celebration! Imagine everything is prepared for you and all you have to do is blow the candle on your cake and open your presents; you even get to slice your cake!

What a a lovely feeling kids might have during thier birthday!

Meanwhile, when one is old enough and was responsible to prepare all those needed to satisfy everyone's expectations, aaaaah, it's so frustrating, imagine you will be worrying about where to get what you will be spending on that event; if you have savings intended for the celebration, then good but if not and you'll still have to find somewhere to lend money with just to use for the celebration would be a big issue. We all have something to spend our income with; investments (that is if you have one), food, bills, necessities, and for me, debts.

But let me tell you, you cannot satisfy every guests satisfaction on a party, everyone has different standards and wants.


Recently, I have been in to Areyah's birthday, she is a co-worker's daughter. While eating on the party, the mother said that on the next year, they will not be holding the same party but will take their daughter to travel to New places and treat the birthday girl. Even Jenny was stressed on the things that happened on that day. Then it turns out that the party lasted from 12noon to 9 in the evening and they shouldered the drinks and food for all of the visitors.

For me, celebrating birthdays should not be stressful, one can celebrate in a simple way but can still make the celebrant happy. But week, still depends on the level of satisfaction of the celebrant, is it.?

Tjis will be all for now, I hope I made sense. Good morning to you all!

7
$ 1.11
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago
Topics: Birthday, Money, Budget, Life, Happiness, ...

Comments

What makes the celebrant happy will just be an additional factor, she/he herself/himself should be grateful for the additional life by God's grace and celebrating shouldn't be stressful. If youre the one preparing, all the hardwork you poured out of love will be worth it upon seeing the celebrants smile. Celebrate just according to budget and other peoples satisfaction shouldn't be the top priority but the celebrant's.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, as a mother, it felt to me and it is my happiness to give my child her happines during that day. They don't know how to celebrate it yet so they look up to us her parents for it. As for the adults that's whe waht you said comes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May ganyan talaga sis kapag may relatives kang pastor, kasi ganyan din ako, may mga pastor din kami nah relatives hindi lang isa dalawa, bsta marami, both side ng parents ko, pero my estimated din kaming oras matapos, para yung mga bisita namin hindi masyadong magutom.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahaha yun ng sis, di na mamanage yung oras eh kay ang rereklamo yung mga bisita

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi naman sa pagyayabang sis ah, sa bday ko kasi talaga parang may fiesta. Tas nakagawian nadin namin na may handa talaga. Pati mga kapitbahay namin, iniexpect na talaga na nila na pag birthday ko na, may handa talaga. Tas yun nga, instead na i.enjoy ko yung special day na yun, na.stress ako sa dami nang tao sa bahay, sa ingay, tas yun nga, expectations nila sa handa ko. Hahaha. But thankful pa din ako kasi, I celebrated my birthday with my family.

For my upcoming birthday naman this year, hindi na yata ganun kabongga last year kasi hindi na ulit ako nag.alaga nang baboy para gawing lechon, ang mahal na kasi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

okay lang yun sis, oo ang mahal na ng aat kapag nag aalaga ka ng baboy ang mahal ng feeds at mahirap mag alaga nito.

sana happiest ka sa birthday mo ngayong taon sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga eh, kaya bottomline sis, mag.family dinner nalang para tipid. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao gyud na sis, pamilya nalang gyud ang siguruon, labi na kay sila pod ang maduolan kung magkalisod

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Korek.. Dili na dapat maanugon nga dili sa makapakaon sa ubang tawo kay krisi man lagi. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao gyud, samot nga nagmahala ang mga palaliton, apil ang presyo sa asin haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao lagi. Naunsa naman tawn ning panahon ron. Nagkanihit ang kwarta, nagkamahal ang pamaliton pud.. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha laban lang japon t asis, mao na mangyud ning lofe, sige tag apassa kwarta ba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it happened sometimes when we gain stress during birthdays since something didn't go as plan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha happy ka ng apero stress naman diba, iba ksi yung happy lang talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago