People make fun of Picasso. They say his art looks like that of a kindergarten's...

I am personally not a fan of abstract art, but I don't think it's any easier than realistic art. I don't know... I can't really say I understand the meaning behind Picasso's paintings either. I don't want to pretend I'm deep and artsy and all that. But I do believe that Picasso's fame today, he deserves it.

"It took me 4 years to paint like Raphael, and a lifetime to paint like a child."

I know his paintings look childish, ridiculous even, but it's easier to make art if you have standards to follow. And art shouldn't be restricted to these standards... It's called art because it's supposed to be limitless, coming out of our imagination where there are no boundaries, right? So Picasso was a real artist. Really just painting what came to mind. Like he never thought of what he was going to put in his canvas. Many modern artists take time to think of ways to make their art more exciting and more pleasing to the eyes, but Picasso. Picasso really just followed his intuition, I guess..? And it's hard... Abstract art is not only difficult to understand but also to make. People who can't get a grasp on this notion are just... Vain, aren't they?

I am not saying realist painters, and other kinds of artists, aren't good. I'm just saying that Picasso wasn't any less of an artist than they are just because they don't like or understand his way of expressing himself through his art.

No idea why I felt like going on about this, but here it is. My first entry is more just a random thought that crossed my mind.

0
$
User's avatar
@yinofcups posted 2 years ago

Comments