8:30 In The Evening

2 44
Avatar for yelL
Written by
3 years ago

It was 8:30 in the evening,

when I saw you yawning.

I smiled as I saw how you slap yourself just to stop from sleeping.

"Hey!" I shouted then your eye grew wider,

you then stood straight then get my bag on my shoulder.

"Our group had a meeting for tomorrow's presentation. Sorry if you waited for me."

You then shookt your head, "Let's just go, Im hungry already."

I smiled as I saw you walked fast.

I was about to run to you when you stopped.

"Oh, right! Before I forgot,

Earlier me and my brother had a fight.

We're about to punch each other when we saw a cockroach flying!

We both run to Mom as fast as we can, almost crying!"

I can't help but laugh when I saw you act what you're saying,

"But that's not it!" You said with even more excited tone and actions, while we're busy walking.

You keep on talking, while I'm just there laughing.

I can't even keep my eyes on the road we're walking in,

knowing among all things there, you're the only one I'm interested in.

Every night this have been our routine.

We'll walk until we saw a place we want to dine in.

We'll walk again to find a jeepney,

till you finally brought me back to my family.

What's funny is my house is miles away from yours,

yet you never get tired walking me home for hours.

But what's funnier is we're doing it for years,

yet we never get run out of stories.

We've even walk through all phases of our lives,

from the brightest to the darkest.

We're always walking in the dark roads, yet I've never been scared,

Because you act as my light in the dark streets, and always make me feel secured.

We may not know sometimes where life is leading our way,

but we have each other along the way.

Walking together through all kinds of weather,

Who'll ask for anything more?

Then suddenly when we finally reach my house, you asked me something,

"Is choosing your heart a bad thing?"

"No! If it's really something that will make you happy,

You must choose that wholeheartedly!"

You then put your arms around me,

"Thank you for always showing me the right way."

You said then kissed my forehead, before walking away.

It was now 8:30 in the evening,

when I saw you yawning.

I smiled as I saw how you slap yourself just to stop from sleeping.

I was about to call you, when someone did it.

"Babe!" A lady shouted then your eye grew wider.

You then stood straight, and get her bag on her shoulder.

"Sorry, Babe. Things got out of control in my group, so I had no choice but to fix it."

You then shookt your head, "You know whatever happens, I'll always understand it."

She smiled and you grab her hand.

"Oh, your bestfriend's here." She announced when she noticed me behind.

"Oh! Celene, are you going with us?" You asked then smile at me.

"No, You guys can walk together. I'll just wait for a jeepney."

"Okay. Celene, just dont forget to text me when you're at home already."

You worriedly reminded then hug me.

With that, I watch the two of you walk away from me.

I saw how excited you are talking to her, the same way you did with me.

I saw how she laugh out loud, the same way I did with your stories.

I saw how happy the both of you, as you walk down the streets,

While Im here standing down the street light,

trying my best to sync in that the man who used to be my light,

is now out of sight.

I never thought that telling you to choose to be happy,

will lead us to separate journey,

where you'll walk with another girl and I'll be alone, waiting for a jeepney.

9
$ 0.00
Avatar for yelL
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

A touching beautiful story. Why can't bestfriends be lovers? I believe the feeling of caring and loving of man and woman is not just bestfriends it is beyond bestfriends.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe there really is an unspoken rule between bestfriends that it would really be better if they'll just stay as friends, in that way they can prolong their relationship as friends and prevent awkwardness if ever they'll broke up once they choose to be lovers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago