We only have one shot

0 23
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

There are plenty of times that I regret what I've just done. That is, not giving my best of best shot in the lesson that I teach.

I know that there is no perfect method or way of teaching. I also know that there will always be something lacking in what we give to our students.

But you know what I always regret? Not giving my best shot in a session.

There are just no excuses, you know. We can't give the excuse that we rear children so we could not give our best in the preparations that we make. We also can't give the excuse that we are side hustling so we really can't focus much on our lesson.

I am not trying to be perfect. But I could have allotted more time in researching and beautifying my PowerPoint presentation. Not in the sense of over decorating it but creating acceptable animations, emphasizing whatever is needed to be emphasized through either color tricks or emboldening, and so on.

I could have used the amount of time I spent on mindless games for my preparation. I could have lessened my time socializing and allotted more time for my instructional materials' preparation.

So now, even just for a few times, let me start with my research about the topic I am to discuss next next week. We already have old documents but it will be worth my time researching current trends. There might be new trends coming on that I needed to be aware of. Who knows?

And while I am writing this particular blog, I am already opening a blank document where I needed to put my updated materials. And opening new tabs to search my search terms. It's easier to remember what I am bound to do that way.

I set my browser to open my previously opened tabs every time I open it. So that whatever I was working on the previous session will be opened the next time I use my browser.

It's a good thing that with Microsoft, it could show the most recent things you opened before. And it is easier to access what you just worked on them the next time you want to continue working.

As I have mentioned in my previous post, An indulgent Friday, but not, I have coordinated with my colleague. I told her I will observe her while she teaches. And since she wasn't available for observation during regular synchronous classes with her students, I observed her during her webinar this morning from around 10 to 12.

I really needed to feel like a student once in a while. So that I would know what students expect from their teachers. I need to be reminded from time to time on what I should do. Things like, when the teacher asks, "Any question?" And she would allot, say five minutes, for the students to formulate, craft, or prepare their questions.

Have you ever tried attending your class and at the end of the discussion, your teacher asks, "Do you have questions?" Then right after she declares there are no questions? What have you felt in that scenario?

Sometimes, if not most of the time, students' minds are not automatic. They have to absorb what has just transpired, for instance. They have to deliberate for a while. If given enough time, they might just have something to ask related to what was just discussed. Otherwise, they may just feel delighted that their session with you has ended. That's just too bad and too sad. What a pity.

So... That and other things were recorded in my mind while I was observing my colleague this morning. So much to improve in my next lessons. Method, pacing, tone, mood, and so many others to consider. Most of the time, I lose confidence just because of the lack of preparation. What makes one confident would be his/her conviction in what he/she is saying. Do you have that when you haven't prepared well enough?

With the limited time given to us for synchronous sessions, we only get one shot to discuss each lesson. Two if we are lucky. And if we miss the chance to perform outstandingly, then we will forever be sorry unto ourselves feeling bad for not giving our best shot.

4
$ 1.81
$ 1.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments