An indulgent Friday, but not

0 19
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Today's a non-class day for me. However, I had other commitments that I needed to attend to.

I thought of teaching my younger son and guide him in answering activities on his module. I eventually got him to sit down with me and look at the module together.

The topic was about the days of the week (in Filipino). It was a difficult thing to teach him most probably because the module was in our Filipino language. Well I could bridge what the module say in English or in our dialect, but the main words that they needed to understand are in Filipino so it is best to already start speaking Filipino. My fault for always forgetting to talk to him in Filipino instead of our dialect.

Funny how kids here in our place find Filipino more difficult than English. But we couldn't blame it on them, YouTube videos which they usually watch are in English. And our dialect is not Filipino either. So we needed to really practice speaking Filipino together to get them understand and speak that language themselves.

I personally love Filipino and it is one of my favorite subjects even until now.

He was really a tough one to teach and I needed to make my voice dynamic and attractive for him to listen to me. We finally reached the last page of the module that I decided that he will have for today and so he immediately went out to play after I dismissed him. He was so happy!

Then I went straight as well to my laptop and saw the reminder of my co-teacher that the link to her webinar was open. Oh, yeah, I told her I will attend her webinar and I was already 30 minutes late. But I still entered the link and there I was, suddenly attending a webinar on a supposedly lazy Friday.

It was a good thing that even though she promoted me as a panelist, I still was not called to speak. I sat back, camera off, and just intently listened to her.

The reason she suggested that I join the webinar was that I was requesting that I join her during her classes so I may observe how she teaches her class. But then, it was her student teacher's turn to teach during that time so she suggested the webinar and I also ask her to really let me in during that time.

And indeed, I was let in a while ago. And it was one of the fruitful webinars I attended because what I knew has been summarized smoothly, I could relate much, and I was able to see what I can improve on my teaching method during the synchronous classes. Well, that was my original purpose-to observe her in hope of finding something that I am forgetting nowadays.

That happens, right? And I was glad she granted my request.

After the webinar, she told me how nervous she was during the discussion. Oh, it wasn't obvious at all, I assured her.

And that was how my lazy Friday became a not so lazy one mainly because I taught something to my son and I listened to a webinar.

And maybe, I will be doing some laundry and other house chores in a short while.

Enjoy your Friday, too.


Edit: I have created my noise.cash account. You may go here to check. Thank you!

6
$ 5.13
$ 5.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments