Watching Olympics

4 22
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

No wonder news is news. I would only be interested watching the Olympics if a Philippine flag is seen somewhere around the perimeter. If there is none, I would resume my task.

My husband is a sportsman so he would be all eyes on the television during games. On most days during the rainy days, he would be here inside the house with us because as he is a laborer, there is nothing much they can do under the rain except if their job is for inside the house. So when he is around, the television is kept on, Channel 6, where the Olympic is being aired.

I’ve recently witnessed a go for gold medal which was a success and I felt secretly pleased. Is this what they call patriotism? I don’t know.

But I believe I wasn’t pleased, I was even enraged when I read plagiarizing Pinoys. Which called undue prejudices from other continents. I wonder what made us stoop too low… I have my share of guilt for not doing my best in my field so I am not one to talk. But if only we stopped doing the shameful act of plagiarizing!

There is a difference between owning what you have read and stating them in your own words as you understood them and simply copying and changing one word to synonyms. If there is a word to distinct the two, that would be a person’s conviction! You’d know when someone simply copied something!

Going back to the Olympics, it was the presence of a Filipino contender that made me retain my eyes on the screen. I would even stop whatever assignment I was rushing just so I could watch the performances or fights or games.

I always wished well for my countrymen. No matter how many people who would resort to shameful means, there will always be those among us who will aspire to be the country’s pride. I couldn’t help following the homecoming of our pride who gave us the first gold during this Olympics.

For any win, it would mean victory for one country and “better luck next time” for another. I would triumph in our victory. And in our defeat, I would just apply what I learned about sportsmanship during our PE in high school. I was lucky to be taught the importance of sportsmanship during our high school. Our teacher was a very good teacher!

What I enjoyed most were skateboarding and gymnastics. How I wish I could do all those stunts!!! But since I was better at fantasizing, I would leave the real works to athletes and just watch them and be awestruck! This would be an exception. Even if I don’t see a Filipino competing, I would still watch these and just choose my candidate and root for him or her in each game.

During the skateboarding, when our contender didn’t make it to the assured places of gold, silver or bronze, I just put my bet on some of them and watched the game until it ended. But mind you, it was hard to choose because they were all ‘astig’! Japan eventually managed the gold and bronze while Brazil, the silver. But it has been a fun experience! I was glad our pride landed 6th place among so many other skateboarders. I saw in the news that she has been having fun. Oh yeah!

I wasn’t able to watch the full coverage of the gymnastics so that would something to review on YouTube.

I wish all our athletes luck and hope that win or lose we would still all be winners. We should lose not because we’re bad but t because some other practiced more and so they were better, and we always will have the chance to better ourselves as well.

In high school during intramurals, even though I wasn’t a sports person, I still did my best with the support I gave to my teammates thru cheering and providing assistance. When they would need to drink or they would want some minor errands. Those were not so hard for me.

I attempted, you know, trying out for volleyball during grade 6. But the screen person told me I was better off as dancer than a player in volleyball. It was after sometime before I eventually accepted. Silly me, I couldn’t even serve a ball, how did I even think of trying out? I should have been glad we were not required to play a single game. Because if we were, I would sure be the first loser.

Mabuhay Pilipinas!

4
$ 3.96
$ 3.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Nyctofiles
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

I really want to watch the Olympics but our TV was broken since the start of the pandemic. That's why I'm really bored.

My favorite sports to watch last 2018 Asian games are diving, gymnastics, and volleyball. I wish I have time soon to watch Olympic games from the internet. This is a best thing to do for sports writer.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Anyway you could watch it on YouTube. Pity your tv is broken. It would have been better watching through tv.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The games are always a little bit more interesting when there is a participant from your country!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, that's true, my friend. Thank you for dropping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago