Serves like a post on the bulletin to make it known

0 21
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Lately, I have been feeling scratchiness in my oropharynx--tonsils, adenoids, soft palate, and the base of my tongue. I have researched what to call them so I am naming my parts right.

There was a time at night, I woke up to a swollen uvula. I panicked. I thought I must have snored real hard to blow it like a balloon. Don't laugh! Sleep apnea is no joke. Both the person and the family members are affected by the loud sound.

Aside from the scratchiness, I just feel as if something's not right. Hmmm... I do have a little trouble swallowing but it is still not that bad.

I don't have a problem talking and I could sing like how I normally sing. Happens that my older sister was singing on a singing app and I joined her to confirm that my voice hasn't changed.

I feel fine overall and I have no fever. Well, there is a very very slight pain when I swallow but again it is very very slight.

The thing, though, is I am getting a bad feeling about this. I know how I have behaved in the past decades of my life and I must admit that this is my fault and no one else.

If in case I have a more serious illness, I have to be ready and prepare what I need for my battle.

Honestly, I am scared. And the preparation I am suggesting myself is somewhat just the work of my tongue and I am quite reluctant to even start preparing.

Truth is, I have yet to review my insurance policy and I am not sure if my suspected case will be included in the coverage of my insurance.

You may say that I am not a doctor and that I shouldn't be assuming unless I get checked but I already told you that I knew what I have been up to during the past decades of my life.

I should therefore have some inkling of this.

One of my consolations is that I have already started reducing my unhealthy food and beverage intake. I have not smoked for over a decade now and I stopped drinking beer or alcohol.

But rarely are our predecessors wrong. I mean, those who have experienced life ahead of us. Some of them remark that we only get to experience the effects of our foolishness when we get older.

Still, I hope that this will be nothing serious and that just a few days, perhaps, weeks or months will make me good again.

I suppose I am still young. Got three kids to raise and I have yet to earn to finish my loans and start saving. But young as I may be, if I have an underlying condition, it will be a warning sign.

But they say that worrying too much will only make us worse so I should choose to be just cool with this and just be resilient.

You know what? I sometimes hate illnesses. They give us a way, the past habits we've had, the past us, who we were before. Exposing us as if we were villains who needed to be punished for what we have done.

They serve like posts on the bulletin, like announcements that we probably did this or that to have such conditions.

But of course, that is just a rough analogy.

Here's to hoping that I am just overthinking. I will be going for a checkup the soonest.

Hoping this is just a warning or, say, a reminder to check me out of bad habits. Still thankful that my hypertension issue before was gone. Imagine having this one on top of that. Hmmm... Bery bad. Not naysu.

5
$ 2.74
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Apex_Thomas
$ 0.01 from @Captainkay
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments