Remembering the fright of the night

7 21
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Writing time: Around December 19. Let me just publish this. I have this as draft for around 2 days now. I wasn't able to publish it on time. And let me just say that we must always store our seedphrases somewhere safe so that when updates like this come, we are prepared.

My heart goes out to those who were affected by the typhoon. May you find strength in Him in this tough time. Hugs tight to you especially the kids.

I still could imagine the fright I always had whenever typhoon came to our place. As a kid, back in our province, whenever strong winds came, I would start freezing in fear. Our old house was a three-story house and its height was one of the triggers for my unusual fright.

I lack words to paint the picture of the tragic scenes that I have witnessed but they sure were heart-wrenching. Ondoy and Pepeng were among the typhoons that took lives here before.

That time, most of my peers were sniggering because there seemed to be no typhoon coming at all. Little did we know that it would leave us revengefully. We promised or I promised to never take warnings so lightly again. If there seems to be no rain, then we should just be thankful. If not, we use the calm before the storm to prepare and stock foods and needs. Never to snigger again.

I would pray hard that the storm will pass. I would cry for help and I would close my eyes and try to brave the sound of the winds and the brushing branches of the trees.

Seriously, I hated the storm. It would give me this feeling like it's the end of the world. Of my world, of the area experiencing its ruthlessness.

I think, it was typhoon Eliang where I first witnessed the tragic fate of those who are ravaged by such phenomenon. I am not sure though if that was the name but it sounded like it. I can't seem to find this though over Google while searching. I was in elementary that time and someone died because of the typhoon. And there were a lot of wash outs and slides.

Sad thing is that, however prepared we are if the severity of the typhoon is just so high, we still are in the mercy of chance. Who would predict the outcome? But then prepare if we must to lessen the casualties.

5
$ 3.68
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

The most devastating typhoon that we've experienced before is Yolanda, our place is in Visayas and I've witness the monstrosity of that typhoon, there are roof been blown, bamboos fallen, trees branch our from roots, massive tidal waves, overwhelming wind and such tremendous rain and lighting. We thought before that anytime we will be hit by a lighting. We are so scared that time, we just ist praying that time that the typhoon will end, until the rain stops and the results weekend me, thousands are dead, billions are lost in agricultural and industrial sectors, families are on evacuation center begging for help.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

So sorry for your losses. I hope you have overcome some of your fears after these years that passed. Glad you are here writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really frightening! I always worry also when the city's hit by the storm since we're on top of the mountain and the wind is strong here it might tear our rooftop, or the land might erode. Just hopeful that everything will be okay.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

How's the statistics in your place? anyone who has experienced anything so far? ask mo nga neighbors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala naman masyado sa kanila. Kami kasi nasa gilid kaya tong bahay yung una natatamaan ng lakas ng hangin. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A ah... Keep safe latta garud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, dear! Thankies! Hehee

$ 0.00
2 years ago