Reliving life as a kid

3 17
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

And this morning, my son felt as if all the chores were thrown at him. He eventually suggested that we make an arrangement of who will do what.

After he washed the dishes, he got a piece of paper and a pen and began writing.

Since I couldn't understand his meaning of Tuesday - Weekends, his preferred schedule, I tried to clear it out by writing Tuesday, Saturday, Sunday. But he said that Wednesdays are mine. So I finally wrote down all the days of the week and asked the assigned worker for each day. Turns out he assigned more days for himself so I volunteered we do chores together during Saturdays.

Monday - Z

Tuesday - D

Wednesday - D

Thursday - Z

Friday - D

Saturday - D, Z

Sunday - Z

Ah, by the way, we were only talking about washing dishes. Ahehe. I guess, he isn't very fond of washing dishes. I send him on errands, ask him to sit his younger brother and sister, and I let him do more. So that was probably the reason he wrote down a schedule even if that is just for washing dishes. Well, I still do the laundry. I ask him from time to time to do it but I guess he still can't.

This reminds me of our scenario when we were kids. We would make a schedule for washing dishes. I forgot who suggested it but definitely, it wasn't our parents because I remember my father saying that he will throw out the schedule because he hates seeing us argue over small matters like that.

He told us to love what we do so that we won't be feeling wronged or whatever whenever we do chores or tasks assigned or not assigned to us.

It brought me a long way because I always try to love what I do even if most of the times, I am unwilling to do house chores. But I believe that is because I have paper works in mind.

I am also trying to instill such mindset to my kids but I know I will have to repeat myself over and over before they will be able to understand it. Or later in life, they will be able to appreciate it.

Honestly, it isn't the same if I don't have this obedient son. He tries his best to obey me even if like this time this morning, he felt as if all chores are being thrown at him. I simply smile and thank the Lord I have him.

Hoping he will be able to learn self-discipline in his time for gadgets, modules, and house chores. And playing. He also needed that. Not virtual play but physical.

I really try to imagine my younger years when I was still with my parents and try to see what I can offer these young children.

I always see myself in my eldest son. The things he do, the way he asks, his silly jokes, etc. I am mostly annoyed. Meaning, I may have annoyed most of my peers with what I used to do. So I tell my son to do things in a not offensive manner for always. It will be better than being mindless of what he does.

If I remember it right, I was a good kid, but also silly and devious at the same times. Same with my son. And I like him best when he is good. When he goes devious, I would go out of hand and honestly, this is the thing I can't still manage.

I try to be logical with him. It is the best tool to make him see what I mean. Otherwise, he wouldn't believe what I say.

Meanwhile, yesterday was my other son's birthday. I have three kids by the way--my eldest whom I am referring to at the above story, my second (the one who have had his birthday celebration yesterday), and my youngest (my only daughter). I refer to my children here as D1, D2, and D3. D2 had his birthday yesterday.

In the morning yesterday, I brought D2 and D3 for bikes and McDo. D1 didn't want to come because I guess he had other commitments to his playmate. And he volunteered to wash the dishes and sweeping the floor so that he may be allowed to stay home.

The children enjoyed the bikes though D3 needed a lot more of pushing from me. She can't seem to coordinate her pedaling and her hand work of moving the thing in the right direction. So I patiently tried to teach her but in the end, I guess she needed to grow more before learning the whole thing.

After biking, we went to McDo and I was a little impatient since they ate first their icecream. That is understandable since they got thirsty after the biking but still, I would have preferred water only.

They said they didn't want spaghetti but I still opened each box of it in front of them and I was glad they ate the food.

We took out a box of spag and chicken for D1 for which of course he delightfully consumed. He kept saying thank you mama and happy birthday to his sibling.

During lunch, we went out for some air but no food since we've had our brunch.

In the afternoon, I went to buy 3 kgs of cull and we've had had it for dinner together with only our immediate neighbors. Again, partying during my hubby's absence is not allowed so we kept it down.

Unlike the previous birthdays, this time, no spaghetti and salad at home. I focused on the viand so that they will eat healthier this time. At least we still celebrated the birthday.

Oh, yeah, my neighbor made my son cake and it served as his birthday cake. D2 was so happy.

D3's birthday will still be few months away while D1's was already celebrated few weeks ago thru bikes also and GoodTaste.

I could say that having kids is also living as one. And reliving your own younger years.

5
$ 3.96
$ 3.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Very good article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I remember too ,, but waitt hindi pala remember kasi until now nakakapaghugas din ako ng mga kinainan minsan, peru mostly yung younger sister ko yung naghuhugas ng pinggan. Washing dishes is the main concern in every sibling in the family hahah

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ahehehe, ganoon ata talaga. Mostly ay ladies naghuhugas unless nagkataon na masinop ang guy or no choice or masipag talaga. Congrats sa paghuhugas once in a while! hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago