Perks of Staying at Home

5 29
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Instead of waking up early to take a bath and prepare for work, I instead extend my sleep a little longer to compensate for the sleep interruption that I experience when putting my daughter back to sleep during the night.

I then just take a bath during the latter part of the day. Upon waking up, either I prepare our morning beverage or I let my eldest do the task while I go out to get some early morning sun. It's blissful.

Of course there are also the disadvantages like being disturbed every now and then by the kids when I wish to focus on my papers and assignments. But I get to enjoy their companies and I see how they fare.

I am not stingy anymore with my time put for house chores like washing clothes. If before I almost have no time for it, now I could use the extra time I have to handwash clothes. Usually, I spend time taking my snack at the school canteen. Now since I work from home, I allot my time for other things. At least also, I use the money not spending for my snacks only but also for my kids'.

The situation is still inconvenient but at least we spend time with our families. Other perks of staying at home working are the comfort of being on loose clothes and not minding really the posture while doing your job. You don't have to retouch every now and then. You can also have your nap time comfortably. (Except perhaps when your little ones are disturbing you hehehe.)

I just have a little confession. Right before the community quarantine, I was kind of hoping that I will somehow be in a situation where I will just work from home. That was because my daughter was still so young back then and I was having some sort of separation anxiety.

Little did I know that in a few weeks during that time, classes would be temporarily suspended because of the entry of COVID-19 case in our country.

Honestly I was delighted to spend time with my baby daughter during the temporary suspension. But the temporary suspension of online classes became longer until there was never face to face classes ever since.

I am not sure whether I wanted to have online classes anymore as I am having separation anxiety until now but I do hope that the disease will become easier to handle as time goes by.

Don't get me wrong. I never delighted because more and more people got sick. Who is happy of that? I guess no one. But still, despite the situation, some of us are taking advantage of feeling happy of being with family. Just that.

Over time, there are so many changes happening. I do hope that in time, I will look forward again to doing business face to face. There are really lots of perks in staying at home but the way we move and teach is also very limiting. It does not allow us to give our best. Every time I have synchronous classes, I always experience connection problems.

But well, the perk there is being able to use messnger to adjust asynchronously. The students can always message me regarding their questions. I already told them that they can message me anytime. They will just have to wait until I am able to respond to them.

I just can't help hearing the voice saying, "Be careful what you wish for."

Indeed indeed! I wished before because of my separation anxiety but along with my wish came worse case.

Meanwhile, now that it came to this, let us just enjoy our stay at home job and try our best to serve the family that we so long to be with.

7
$ 4.51
$ 4.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

I was also delighted when work from home set up was implemented and yes there are lots of perks of it. Until I realized the ramifications of it on my work. Disturbances at home is inevitable, indeed! Let's just pray that evrything will be back to normal so everyone can work in comfort too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hihi, the disturbances at home, really. Yeah, me too I am hoping we could get back to the old normal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's just a coincidence I think. Don't feel too bad about it yourself. Let's hope and pray it will be back to normal again. And let's use the opportunity that we have to spend it with the good things and good people.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, coincidence. But I still feel a little bad about it.

Use the time to blog during spare time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to know that you spend it wisely. Keep it up

$ 0.00
2 years ago