Old posts did a good job of returning the smile on my face

2 33
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Yesterday, I happen to stumble upon my blog on another platform. I ended up being entertained by my own clumsy posts that I had painstakingly created years before. I was thinking last night, "Oh well... How will I get back to writing like this?"

I couldn't believe that those posts I perceived as clumsy before were extra awesome reads for me last night. For the first time in a long time, I was able to appreciate my own work. To think that those were articles I wrote when I was just still trying my luck in writing.

I was struggling so much to stretch it to more than two-minute reads... Short posts. Short articles but awesome reads anyway. I was in disbelief that I was actually able to pull those off. Imagine that? I was talking to myself.

I finally decided on this free site name and I hope I will settle for this. No more extra pseudonyms that I just keep changing anyway.

Let me just share this:

Year after year

I settled on https://mathementalz.wordpress.com.

I would have wanted 'mathemental' but it says it was a reserved subdomain. So okay, I just chose the closest to my heart which is 'mathementalz.'

I do love Math, but at the same time, I am a sentimental being. Or just a word I thought at the spur of the moment. But sounds so good to me. And there is another meaning, I just always want to remind myself that my mental health is important. So there is the word 'mental' as well.

What more should I look for?

I wanted badly to buy a custom domain but my budget isn't just so good right now. I am thinking of building my brand first and solidifying my niche before finally buying a custom domain that I will have to maintain for the rest of my life.

I wanted to have a site where I could express my thoughts, insights, and reflections on life at the same time writing articles that touches my field of specialization once in the while.

Maybe, I can write about some of my own solutions to simple Math problems and create walk-throughs if needed. It will come in handy considering that I might be a Math teacher for the rest of my life. And that isn't a bad thing.

I can survive. I can live with it and through it.


But why was I absent for so long? A month not blogging is just toooo loooong but I was quite not into working late into the night. Also, I really didn't have something I felt like writing. Or this may be just an excuse. Anyway, I won't promise anything to myself anymore but I thought it better to scribble once in a while.

A few days ago, I found myself reading a manuscript. Guess what, it was a manuscript that I have written by copying an eBook. I just couldn't read long essays on a digital copy so I just wrote down everything and it was just a few days ago that I felt like reading it.

I am still clueless as to what is worrying me that I am quite down and not so in the mood for writing.

I hope that I wouldn't be so hard on myself but I will just instead keep pushing myself gently to be able to do the things I once loved.

5
$ 0.99
$ 0.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Itsfarah
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments

Lol...I can understand, how you felt at that time. As I also laugh alot to read my old content.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can't believe I wrote all those before hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago