Maya, you're stealing my food

0 20
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Maya, Maya, you cute little bird. You're really cute and you look innocent but you're stealing my food and my owner isn't shooing you away.

(Picture downloaded from this page.)

Every time I eat, you come and eat with me. Oh, and you have so many companions. One, two, three... There are so many. A lot more of you and I will not have food to eat.

Why do come and steal my food? Why don't you go to the wild and eat seeds and worms and the like?

How come you never tire of coming to my owner's yard? Aren't you shy and aren't you sensitive enough?

Dear master, please shoo these birds away! I will have nothing to eat if you let them eat them all!

Maya, Maya, how about my chicks and other family members? What will they eat if you consume everything?

Do you have money to pay for the grains? I bet there is none. So very poor you... But that is not my business anymore. Just go away and let us be in peace.

I also feel pity but what can I do? Go now to the forest and in there you will have seeds and worms. Or focus on the canal and you will see earthworms. You will be fed. What do you say?


I don't understand my little chicks. Every time I feed them, they behave as if I am going to strike them. As if I am not their master.

I gently move so they won't assume that I am going to hunt them. As if they are big enough for eating.

I don't shoo the Maya birds just because my pets will also go away if I drive them away. I do clap my hands to scare them but I stopped doing that because my chicken especially the chicks will get scared as well.

I feel annoyed haha. I think I am going to name each of my chicks so that instead of calling them via 'Prrrrr... Prrrrr,' I will shout their names instead.

But I think it only is customary for us to name dogs. I have not yet met someone who would name their chicken pets.

But let me name my chicken pets. Let us see how it goes. Is that silly? One thing I hate sometimes is that people call you crazy if you deviate from the customs. But I don't care. Just an experiment anyway.

This morning, I struggled to feed them because aside from the Maya birds, there are also chickens coming from the neighbors. When I shoo them away, and call mine they would all come and go at the same time.

I had to isolate the chicken that isn't mine and deal with them making sure that my pets weren't bothered. But, gosh, it can't be helped.

As soon as I enter the house, when I come out, it would be the same scenario. I couldn't just stone those that aren't mine because I will also be responsible and it is against my conscience.

I will just think that they are delicious food on the table so I should deal with them graciously. Hehehe.

As for the Maya birds, I think I have to experiment. I will try to tie different plastic cellophane on a rope and tie them up above the yard and move them whenever the Maya birds come.

That would be so got better than clapping my hands. Or do you have any tips, dear readers? Hehehe.

Before, I remember that we roast Maya birds for food when we go to the farm. I remember how tasty they were. I bet it would be different now that we are in the city.

It was for survival during those times because we didn't usually cook poultry, especially during ordinary times. There were times we cook meat when going to the farm but not always.

By the way, the Maya bird used to be the Philippine national bird. Now it is the Philippine Eagle that was declared the Philippine national bird. I think it is mainly because of the role that the Philippine eagles play for the wildlife here in the country.

Sponsors of wakeuplincs
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 2.83
$ 2.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Ayomike
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments