Life without Mobile Games

12 34
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Ever since cellphone was snatched away from my children, they started doing other things instead of being absorbed with games and anything to do with mobile games.

I don’t see a problem with my daughter because she is willing to write and scribble. And she knows how to hold a pen.

I am worried about my second son. He was the main reason why we decided to totally stop their access to mobile phones. He was very addicted to games that all he could do in a single day would be to play games.

It was quite hard during the early stage of taking the phone from him. He kept crying, then pleading. He even went on strike. But we kept firm with our decision. NO PHONE TIME for them.

He isn’t fond of writing. Well, he writes but only out of compliance. He writes his name then that’s it. Sometimes, we just let him write whatever comes to his mind just so he will write.

Why is it so hard to teach one’s OWN child? I now understand why some parents let others handle their children.

Anyway, since the children are no longer allowed to play games on mobile phone, my second son, restless, went around looking for things to do. Then there he met his new gadget. Hahaha. He was so amazed by how numbers appeared on the screen of the calculator.

At least he knew how to order numbers from 1 to 10.

He showed to me the above with pride. And I thought better to write about it this topic. And I took a picture of what he has inputted on the calculator.

Since he doesn’t like to write with pencil or pen, I reluctantly let him do his stuff and he went on exploring the calculator. Asking something about the other functions he sees on the calculator.

I always keep the calculator near me. Anytime, I use it for my calculations, academic or personal. At first, I kept scolding him, telling him to put the thing down. It might fall, might get broken, and might get damaged.

But after a while, I realized I could use the calculator as a means to test if he is learning something or not. One of the things I confirmed he knew is ordering numbers. At least… I thought.

Then a while back I was practicing my timings and lines for my video recording which I will be doing tonight after everybody goes to bed. My son came to me and I thought of letting him be amazed by the ICT tools I am using.

I opened a new Microsoft PowerPoint and typed his name then random things I could think of. I inserted our pictures on the slides. Then I told him to get ready because we will be recording.

While we were recording, he was identifying letters. He pointed at some letters of the words I wrote saying that those letters are found in his name.

We went on recording random stuffs and then we exported the PowerPoint as a video. We then played it and he kept smiling to himself.

I accepted that it may not be that smooth tutoring him but there is always hope in his learnings. I can just be creative in order to teach him.

But really, doing all these just for the love of the kid. There were those times, I really didn’t mind teaching them. Because of the pressures of my job. But now I have a clearer mind. What of just a few minutes of my time each day? For the kids. Right?

I learned to enjoy my time with them and really, it is blissful. If we know how to condition our body and mind.

Honestly, they started using mobile phones when I used it as a technique to have more time for my work. But I realized I was guilty of doing it the wrong way. It was our fault as parents to begin with.

Hubby and I let them use phones which isn’t supposed to be. So I hope it is not too late to correct ourselves.

It felt so much better after deciding to keep the phone away from my children. I think it is the best decision I made so far. It was hard during the early stage but we kept firm with our decision.

As of this time that I am writing this, the children are content sitting on the cradle… Watching television and playing with each other at the same time. Occasionally, hubby nags us to write A, B, C and 1, 2, 3.

9
$ 6.34
$ 6.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Nyctofiles
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 2
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Di uso ang cellphone sa amin nung bata. Maybe why we learned reading at early age. And bakit focused kami sa pag aaral, and enjoyed real physical games outside. The genaration of kids right now can't relate sa nakakapagod na childhood! Haha! Ngayon, mobile games na ang uso, kaya laging nakaupo ang bata. Maagang lumalabo ang mata, kakaexpose sa phone. Good decision !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth. Hopefully ay maenjoy na rin nila ang magsulat and magbasa na lang. Though hindi talaga makalabas kasi tuloy tuloy ang ulan. Naglalaro naman sila ng physical games pero kapag nasa loob ng bahay, resume cellphone nanaman. kaya, pina stop ko na talaga. No more hesitation para din maging meaningful ginagawa nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, thank God you discover yourself on time and making that decision is best thing any parent can do. Truly there's nothing wrong in allowing our kids to use mobile phones but that should be under close monitoring, and we should create time to help them grow academically.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True, my friend...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It certainly is not a bad thing to take away mobile phones from your kids, while they are still in the very early developing stage. I remember the best memory of learning is when my mom teaches me mathematics. It is one of the main reasons that I decided to stay in the 'science' path during high school and took engineering in my college days haha!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hi, Sponked! Thank you for the comment.

Just checked your profile and I have to say welcome to this platform! You write good stuffs. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much, looking forward to your article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But some time this mobile and games destroy the Future of parent who went to make her child doctor or engineer. But every things is positive or negative impact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taking away mobile phones from your kids is the best decision. It is so frustrating and infuriating that parents use gadgets to keep them from being a bother or to quiet them from tantrums. Young children shouldn't even have access to such devices because for one it is exposing them to harmful light. Even TV time should be limited, according to our pedia. This way, children learn to develop their creativity by keeping them entertained with stuff that makes them use their minds and not just let them do something that will eventually addle their brains. Sorry for the rant...

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I was guilty for too long. When I finally came to my senses, I knew I had to do the best for them. Though ideally, I always wanted that they enjoy the real things in life. Step by step... Hopefully.

Thanks for the input! Well received!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ooh, this is really good for Davies and the other cuties! Maybe he'll grow more fond of numbers and will be a Math major like you, or and Engineering studes. Hehehe.

I also hope to minimize my Kwin's gadget time. Huhu, she's easily bored kasi.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Im not sure what his inclination is. Hopefully they will understand our hearts.

Good luck with Kwin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago