If it were a marathon

0 10
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

One reason I don't watch a lot of movies in one sitting is that I might not be able to stop myself from thinking too much about those that I just watched.

I don't know but ever since I was young, I got the trait of internlizing things too much.

It may seem nothing at first but I usually always felt affected by what I watched.

Another reason I get so affected by movies would be, I often get attracted by those that convey strong and remarkable stories.

I remember the worry that my father had because of my watching baywatch nights when I was young. Some of the movies were about vampires. They told me I had night terrors. I wasn't so aware at first until I realized what has been happening to me.

Anyway, cut the story short, time came when I tried to look for lighter and more wholesome strories. Those that do not make me fo thinking very deep and dark. It worked until time came also when I wouldn't want anymore to watch horror or tragic or suspense stories.

But once in a while, I find myself so enthralled with suspense, horror, or crime movies. I only get to watch those kinds again when I am in a no-choice situation. But maybe I was just in a denial mode.

But really the impact of those movies to me is just so strong that I get so much affected.

I remember one time, watching the story of a child, who was trafficked. The young child got separated in just a while with his father when he got abducted. The father kept searching for the child.

I can't imagine being in the same situation as suddenly losing my child into the unknown. I cried continuously after watching. I went to school to conduct a class but I wasn't able to contain my emotions and instead of discussing my lesson, I continued crying.

It was such an embarassing moment but that was what happened.

My only consolation for that particular movie was when the father finally found his son after all those years of searching. He found him thru the musical instrument that he gave his son when the child was young; the child was using the instrument as a tool to beg for money.

Still a very sad situation but then the most important thing there was that he was able to find his son.

Years passed and I think I am still the same.

If only watching movies were some sort of competition, I guess I lost the race. Just because I can't bear to keep watching and changing the tone of the moment.

When I watch, I only do so with one new movie at a time, pace of about a week or months. Haha.

So the best alternative for now is watching Disney movies. If not, watching comedies or just indulging in music.

It's like I made myself okay with those that are not really my cup of coffee but nevertheless good and sound movies. My children can also join me. At least.

If truth be told, the themes that I really like watching are suspense/crime, horror, historical, intimate dramas. But before watching any such theme, I feel it should be done during vacations.

Problem is I don't get a lot of vacation nowadays.

I'm just glad no one is requiring us that we watch one or more movies per day or week or month. Else, I'll be lagging behind. Very behind. XOXO

3
$ 1.50
$ 1.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments