Hit and Run

5 18
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

I think I have to apologize for not hanging around so much here on this platform. I only post then reply to few comments on my articles then that’s it. I move on and do other things.

I have a rather odd way of doing things. I simply put off what I can do to other days. And when I do hang around, I binge do what I do like upvoting or liking or reading. Sometimes, I am fixated only at few authors whose articles I upvote or comment on.

So I feel the need to explain. Sometimes, much as I wanted to meet young people, and ask how they are, I am overwhelmed by other chores or tasks so I tell myself, all in good time. Believe me, one of these days, I might just appear on your comment section and disappear only to reappear. No fixed schedule really.

Even those who visit my articles for the first time, I have not yet visited them. I feel obliged, you know. It’s how things are. They at least paid me some visit, why wouldn’t I pay them a visit as well? And try to learn or check their stories out. But they must have to wait for me.

This is another procrastination on my part. How many authors will I be visiting when I do decide to binge read? Anyway, I know for myself when I hang around, I really do hang around.

Did you know, during my early twenties or even earlier, I used to spend most time on Facebook. I would post whatever was on my mind. One liner, two liners, a paragraph, etc. I would even use the platform to rant and it was always received pretty badly. Very immature, those days. Some of my friends would message and ask if I had a problem. Sometimes, I retort. Sometimes I just laugh, like ‘hehehehe’.

On the other hand, I would go and find longs posts because according to me, I love long reads. Most of the time, I got disappointed.

Then at last, I was able to learn three or four blog links of those local writers I first admired in the field. Some of them were journalists. But they chose to pursue other careers though they still maintained their blogs. I would satisfy myself reading and reading what they had written and until now, I would still visit those blog sites especially when I wanted to recall where I started.

Now, I totally stopped posting my thoughts on Facebook and switched here. I would only post there when I needed to share something especially when our school enlists our help through the power of Facebook.

Going back… To tell you, I am not a natural. I just pick things here and there. So I needed to gather inspiration from time to time. And it was easiest going back to their blogs.

I was kind of sneaky. I would find myself in the company of random news writers here at our place. And like a fool I ask what I ask from them. And maybe out of kindness, they simply go along with my gimmick. Thinking back, I always made a fool out of myself. Though they say it was amusing, their encounter with me. But I maintain, I was kind of irritating. Even myself, I irritate. A restless, impatient someone like me. But I learned to eventually fix my loose screws. Just that, I could be quite snobbish or scary if I get serious.

My point is, I may not be active right now when it comes to commenting and interacting but that will not be always the case. And yes, there is this thing about spammers and I don’t like to be tagged as one so I have to find time first to read before commenting so it will not just be out of compliance.

Then it hit me, how things changed! Those days when I had a lot of time to spare. Even watching animes and movies. Guess things have changed radically. The addition of a child to the family, and the time used in writing articles. I really can’t afford to watch movies unless it is needed. But I am not a movie reviewer so that is not compulsory.

I will now be sleeping. See you in the day!

Writing in a hurry, Lincs

6
$ 5.21
$ 5.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MissJo
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
+ 2
Avatar for wakeuplincs
2 years ago

Comments

Same. Always busy and just finds myself binge-reading articles almost thirty to forty in just one sitting. I also am so busy with different stuff, that's why. It fells fulfilling when I sweep out my subs notif tho. Haha!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha yes! When finally the red bell is not seen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries and pressure po. We all have priorities to do. Just have a visit if you have spare time. 🤗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago