Don't argue meaninglessly, may be next time

8 46
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

My husband came rushing, showing a video of a man, talking about why a person gets sick and all. The man in the video kept it really neat and simple. He says that we feel sick just because we have done some harm to ourselves.

I got hurt but I was lost for words to explain my point to my husband. I told him before about my condition so that he knows the possibility of things happening in the future. But like tonight, what he does is that, showing random videos of some know-it-all, smooth talker vloggers.

So let me just write something here hoping writing eases my pain a little.

While it is true that we become sick indeed when we don't take care of ourselves or we keep taking what we shouldn't be taking, there are a lot of instances as well that we acquire diseases not because we didn't take care of ourselves.

Accidents, for instance. We can't avoid accidents hundred percent. We all know that. Catching airborne diseases, it's another. No matter how proper we put our masks on, it would still be almost impossible to eliminate the possibility of catching the disease.

Etc...

Well, in my case, I know that I have the greatest fault for why I eventually got sick like this but no matter what, you just shouldn't comfort a sick person like that. And in the first place, I was born with weak lungs.

I got the point, alright. But it isn't as simple as that.

BE KIND. That is still the most comforting gesture towards a sick person.

That sick person already feels some guilt herself/himself so there is no need to augment the pain.

And again, it is not as simple as that. Those who speak smoothly like that probably have not experienced anything yet. When the time comes, let us hope they won't eat their words.

As for my hubby, I will explain next time. He is a family after all and it wouldn't hurt to try to explain my point.

I simply hope he will not say that I am defensive.

On the other side, it makes me laugh deviously thinking of crazy retorts to him. "Ah, you mean, when I get pneumonia, does it always mean it was because I did something terrible to my body?"...something like that. Harhar. But I wouldn't write here the other things that I might tell him because it would be stupid.

7
$ 6.03
$ 5.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.04 from @Nyctofiles
+ 1
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments

Falling sick isn't necessarily one's fault, some diseases are just developed by our body. How will the vlogger explains what causes cancer ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Be kind also to yourself, just don't mind the thing he might say. I hope your doing well and may God heals you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good point. I totally agree with you, and it is always crucial to weigh things out before making a conclusion. Through this way, conflicts such as misunderstanding and trouble can be avoided.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've been thinking again what I have written up there and yes, after a day of writing it, I still agree with what I said. They do have a point but what do they know about what we are really feeling. Thanks for dropping by!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pleasure is all mine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being kind to a sick person is one of the best things or behavior someone can really do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hi, lonestranger. Thank you! And thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My pleasuree.

$ 0.00
1 year ago