Changing relationships

2 25
Avatar for wakeuplincs
3 years ago

I had a chat with my former boss from my previous job. He is now my classmate. He is in America. Everything is done virtually, so he enrolled. We were classmates last term and also now.

Out of the blue, he messaged me. Just this morning he sent a messenger text asking how I was. Of course the objective was to keep in touch. He jokingly asked if he could copy my assignments. Of course he was just joking. I replied, he might just criticize my work. Maybe! He said. Hehe.

I asked him if he will already come home to the Philippines. He said that not yet until he finds an American spouse.

Then I teased that I guess he won't be coming home forever. Hehehe.

But he modified saying that maybe his chance is a Philippine citizen.

I wanted to ask if male or female but that is already out of bound. He is still my boss in effect. I can't help but maintain same respect for him.

I forwarded him the file of our assignment. We were both reluctant doing the homework.

How weary we're getting as we age... Sigh!

Anyway we have to pass our assignments after a week.

I will not do my assignment yet. I will first wait for the synchronous classes with our professor. Afterwards I will do my assignment.

Back in the day when we were colleagues, we were somewhat strict to our students. Not really strict. Just in some aspects. Now we do not want strict teachers. Or at least we do not want so much pressure. At the same time we understand them.

Let me just call my former boss as Donno.

Donno is a special person. His sexuality is that same with Vice Ganda, or milder. Excuse me, I'm not so sure about proper terminologies about sexuality. Anyway that makes him special.

Our first encounter was not very pleasant. He was a panel during my demo and I knew right there that he was intelligent. But his facial expression was not very much welcoming. He was, if my description was right, hostile. Or let us say, wary. I came from a another University and I think I understand why he was like that.

But then I came to learn a lot of things from him and discovered that he is truer than other people. He may be like that but deeper inside, he is warm and compassionate and also the understanding.

I told him how I first perceived his behavior. I forgot how he reacted.

I was hired shortly after the demo then we became colleagues, he, the boss. Then we became closer till I could say friends. We still maintained some sort of distance but the formal-friendly relation has been healthy.

After 2 years or lesser, I had to take a maternity leave. I did not return anymore to the same department since I applied to another but still same University. I visit him regularly after coming back to work.

The reason for my fondness of him is maybe he has very sound and practical philosophy. I inherited his good wit until now. Just before the pandemic, I learned that he went abroad.

I missed him.

One time, I our common colleague-friend-student told me he will be my classmate.

On another note, guess what! We were classmates and our teacher was our student before. That was last term haha.

By the way he is already a PHD holder but still is enrolling until now. Even though he is perhaps getting weary, he knows best as to further his development.

Years, and hoping we will get reunited. By that time, maybe I am already done with my grad studies. Hoping.

How about you, have you had any similar experience regarding changing relationships brought about by circumstances?

The lesson is to always be mindful how we treat others... Today we are the boss. Tomorrow, the subordinate or vice versa. Sometimes we just don't know what tomorrow brings.

Lead image source: click here.

3
$ 5.16
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
3 years ago

Comments

Life is a wheel tho, whatever status we are in right now, will not be the same in the future. It takes hard work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the thought!

$ 0.00
3 years ago