Buying books for around $20

2 34
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

When was the last time you read a book? How about the last time you bought one?

I am still into printed books more than electronic versions of such. I have downloaded digital copies of novels before from preferred authors but until now, I have not read all of them. Not that I have read every single printed book in the house but at least, I have already read those that I like.

A colleague decided to sell some of her books. She said that she was cleaning her space and so she wanted to lessen the books contained on the shelf.

Although she was letting the buyer name his/her price I still went for $20. I searched for the retail prices of books online and I estimated that the amount is good enough to buy her possessions considering that those were second-hand.

Another reason I immediately asked to get her books is that it is like book recommendations at the same time. Multiple purposes.

I have not read books for weeks now and it would be good to read a few before the new academic year kicks in.

Also, I wish to improve my way of writing because I am not improving the way I am now. I couldn't even write more than four articles in a week. Writing prompts I guess is what I needed.

I believe I will be able to get ideas and expand my narrow vocabulary. When I have more budget, I will buy first-hand ones at the bookstore. Maybe not. Hehe.

In reading books, I am prompted more often to form phrases in my head. Ideas get accumulated and when I do write, I get to pen down more than when I don't read.

So spending $20 is already good enough both for me and the one who is giving away. At least, it is a decent amount for her to buy coffee and maybe, to buy at least a new book.

As for me, it is a very cheap option considering that I will get around ten books. And yes, I have not read those yet.

There are a lot of titles on my reading list but honestly, I didn't have the inkling to go find them during this season of my life. So for now, any book from my respected colleagues will be a treat.

I gave up reading philosophy books. I guess it is not my forte. Unless it mentions a universal way to live, then I could dig in. Problem is that I sometimes barely grasp anything. Anyway, I have enjoyed some and I will read some other times.

For now, I will go for novels and essays. My old man's pocketbooks were a little bit too much for me to read. There is an inexplicable feeling of nostalgia that I get when I read his pocketbooks. Cowboys. Rifles. Horses.

But of course, when the lore of middle earth wasn't yet reachable for me, I did try to read those Western novels. I successfully finished some. Hehe. Painstakingly, I guess. Visible blood in the imagination and no magic at all. No mystery either. Or am I wrong?

My pops is still in love with them and he requests once in a while that we go buy him similar books. They are rare. Or I just did not know where to go.

Someday, I plan to read the other novels that my father collected (E.g.: Louis L'Amour novels). I will be more mature and bolder by that time. Perhaps!

Meanwhile, I will be having my new set of books by next week maybe. My colleague said that she will bring her books to school. The school is our common denominator anyway so it just makes more sense for us to meet there.

Lead image from Unsplash

4
$ 1.03
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeuplincs
1 year ago

Comments

I prefer hard copies as well. Want to stop reading I use a book mark, lol. The world of technology is taking away are preferences isn't it? Well anyways happy readings

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad that they still print anyway. Hehehe.

Thanks for dropping by!

$ 0.00
1 year ago