"Wheel her in"

15 58

The call

As she entered the room he felt shocked. This lady was the spitting image of the one he took care off several days. She had immediately agreed by stopping by and there she was. He didn't know how to start. Was it wise to tell her everything? He decided not to.

"Thank you for coming over here so fast. A colleague contacted me", he paused and looked her into the eyes. Even the eyes were the same. "My colleague from St. mary's told me you are looking for a missing person", his voice sounded not as firm as he started. "I treated a patient that might fit into the profile. May I show you a photo?"
She nodded and he opened the file on his desk.

"I can not give you much information because it's confidential but perhaps if you see this photo..."

He shoved the picture of the young woman towards her, kept it covered by his hand a bit longer while he said "I must warn you this photo is made right after she was found and taken in here."
She stared at the picture and swallowed. Carefully she picked it up at a corner and studied the face on it. It was as if she looked into a mirror. It was here she was looking at, the one she once was two decades ago. Innocent and hurt, hurt, and lost until Jim took care of her. Took care and made her feel better for a while, long enough to get back at her feet. She didn't make any sound but the tears proved the memories of the past hunted her.

The doctor waited. It was clear to him she saw the same as he did and the only thing he could do was wait. He felt sorry about the way he had treated the young woman, he never informed the police. Being a jerk was not who he was. He felt ashamed and would give his best to make it up to her.

"Do you have a name?"

"No, I am sorry. She never gave us one. We called her Jane..."

"Jane Doe", she whispered.

He nodded.

"Actually, there isn't much I can tell you about her. I assume you recognize her?"

It was her turn to nod. "

How can I deny that? She's my spitting image, she looks exactly the same as I did at that time, I..."

"If you want to be sure we can run a DNA test."

Prompt: wheel her in

#kittywu #story #freewrite

40
$ 0.30
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

I'm curious as to what happens. What relationship do they all have and who is this look alike?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let's see if I can tell the story in short. Jim lost his girl about 2 decades ago and the police didn't believe him. They said he made it up, is a drunk, etc. Jim's sister shows up and opens the case with help of the new chief inspector Fidelo and his colleagues Ben. Jims disappears, Mrs. Gordon did something and seems to be punished for it and a young woman is found buried alive by a dog. The doctor kicks her out as she is ready to leave and calls Jim's sister to show her the photo of that found young woman. Jim is still gone and Fidelo switched his phone off while Ben found a bag with... evidence (?)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohkayy...thank you for summarizing it for me, looking forward to what happens.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hhhmmm interesting. who is she? hehe I just did subscribe you. I want to know what will happen next to her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What happens next is for next time. I didn't make it up yet. You can only read what already happened.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please subscribe me I have subscribe you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please subscribe me I have subscribe you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems this is a moment of truth... will she find her long lost identity?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know yet. Perhaps the only thing she find is peace of mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. Well that's good too. Sometimes finding things out further complicates the situation

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really appreciate for your article your the best

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great job.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

please support me i want to make money for my study 😥

$ 0.00
3 years ago