What is it?

16 43

It is not the first time I take a photo of whatever this may be. It looks like a kind of weed but the question is: what is a weed? Most likely it is everything that doesn't benefit us.

Look how beautiful. It is dead, dehydrated and what comes out are the new seeds. The white looks are so soft. Somehow it reminds me of silk.

I used the macro option of my smartphone to take this photo. I just tried like a blind man because my phone shows more reflection than one can imagine. Although photos made outside look so much better than those taken inside it's not easy if the sun shines. This is a pleasant surprise.

I removed the app PictureThis which and my connection is too slow to download it again. If so I'll add what it might be.

It's milkweed.

The Latin name is Asclepias syriaca, synonyms: Asclepias intermedia, Asclepias kansana.

Milkweed is family of the silkplants.

The flowers can be eaten, they taste sweet. As we know flowers have as much vitamins/minerals/calories as green salad. Next year I'll try them.

Thank you @esciisc for telling me the name.

#kittywu #smartphonephotography #milkweed

16
$ 0.27
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marblely

Comments

Milkweed? Wierd but your a great photographer author 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed it's called milkweed. Strange weed isn't it? Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks like the fruit from the cotton plant at first glance- but then i read on and it's milkweed. I've never seen such an adorable looking weed like that before

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have never seen weed like this before. It is beautiful, soft and silky like you said. How big or small are they? I wonder if anyone has made them into something. They do look very much like silk.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is the pod of a plant that produces abundant seeds. Generally, those fine silk-like filaments are what allow the breeze to carry them to other distant places to fulfill their evolutionary cycle. It happens with many plants.

IT IS beautiful that photo with those fluff. GOOD blind catch.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand the seeds are carried by the wind. What I like to know is which plant it is. I hope to figure it out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Someone will tell you the truth. It's not something that I know of.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know now. It is family of the silkplants. It's name is milkweed. I edited the post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The picture is very beautiful. Is it a cotton tree?I am very curious to know. Please let me know @wakeupkitty. I have find the question that I see the "PhotoGrid" mark in your every pictures. What is this? Is this an app's watermark or watermark of your own.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

PhotoGrid is a free app. I mainly use it for making photos smaller and change them into jpeg. Next to it I can write a small text on it and because I use a free version "Pjotogrid" is added to it too.

With PhotoGrid you can make collages, change your photos, make memes or so but I do not really use these options. I do not know about a real watermark. I'll have a look. If you like I can give some examples in a post.

What you see on the photo is a miracle to me too. It's not a bush just one single stem about 30 centimeters high. The name turns out to be milkweed. It belongs to the family of the silkplants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm amazed how you captured it beautifully. By the way, it is called milkweed according to google.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Milkweed? I go google it and see what it exactly is. Great you found the name. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm curious about the name so I used your photo and searched for similar ones. Great that I have so much time for searching haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The capturing are good. It's so clear 😍 .Looking forward too more photos you will upload .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind comment. This one was for sure more luck than wisdom. I wish it would make such clear photos inside.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You most welcome miss. You know I always reading your articles because it really makes sense and lesson.

$ 0.00
3 years ago