Watch your language

23 64
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

The values I had... I have the feeling I start losing them. They say children are influenced by society, school, teachers if it comes to behavior, ideas, and the words they use.
Within my family, we have three if not four different generations if it comes to expressing ourselves. Is it time that made this difference, growing up in different societies? I try to remember if the vocabulary my grandmother used was influenced by her youngest child. She endured pop music and all his behavior but I think what she said, the way she said it never changed neither did his way. Her influence was clear if it came to the language spoken. Perhaps she became more silent as the years passed by but the angry look was there.

With me it is different. Might be I changed. Or I should say I became the person I am instead of the one people tried to make out of me? It is true and I I can not help noticing it but I do express myself at times with words that aren't mine. Words I don't like and feel uncomfortable with. In my case, it's not about birds of a feather flock together, neither I try to fit in or be popular but it's more like the Dutch expression says "Those who work with tar will be tainted (
those who handle pitch are contaminated with it).
It feels as if the world is no longer one I recognize. One child uses words I do not like and therefore not tolerate. Might be I am an old fashioned mother, perhaps more than my granny was, but I still believe the way we write and speak does give others an impression of who we really are.

For years huge posters of parrots were seen in cities and train stations. It was a campaign against cursing, scolding. "Don't be a parrot, cursing is learned behavior" it said.

#kittywu #parenting #language

25
$ 0.51
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

The language you use changes over time, and I'm not talking generationally. I remember swearing alot when I was a teenager, but as I grew older, I stopped seeing the point of doing that. It's not helping you sound more intelligent, or funny even.

Nevertheless, I follow some people at Youtube who make the crudest jokes I've never replicated as a child, and I don't mind it, it makes me laugh. I guess some things just suit certain people better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I assume if you watch it on Youtube it's more in the way comedians do although many of them do not curse and are funny.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most of the parents I've met have adopted to their children's languages though. Including my mother. Were we perhaps the tar? 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did not adopt my children their language neither did they adopt the language of the teachers or the children at school (which is a foreign language) but I do notice a difference and that difference can't be brought by their friends (they do not have any), not by watching tv (we have no tv) or listening to DJs on the radio (no radio). Who knows I figure out what it is since it isn't caused by the fact they speak 4 different languages a day either. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why do they speak that many languages a day, oh gosh- but it could probably be from classmates. They'll still need to interact with those kids while they're in class, after all. But still shocking with that many languages ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Because we are Dutch and speak Dutch. Internet, games etc and films we watch are in English. They live in a country where people speak a different language and follow English and German classes and a part of the lessons are teaches in these languages.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What are the other 2 languages if Dutch and english are the main ones? Are you guys taught french and german as well???

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like I write German and the other one is Hungarian. Which means teaches is in Hungarian, next English and German. One child will have most lessons in German and Hungarian. They both speak English already fluently, Hungarian too by the way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh hungarian, not french. Your children are impressive. Are all kids taught those languages there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, but you need to learn two languages next to your own. Dutch + English and next to it one other language. In most cases the choice is German and French but there are who teach Spanish and Italian too. If you visit Athaneum you have Latin and Greek as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your language diversity there is dizzying. Too many languages in a single place but i guess since it's easier to travel around europe, each country woild still get regular foreigners coming in and out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We are used to it and if it comes to it most Dutch people at least speak or understand 3 languages. Most likely most other Eiropean countries next to their own language only English or not even English.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The influence I received was from my parents. I did not know my grandparents. My mother was in charge of teaching her children the culture of her country. I feel strange in the way of life where I live. Although I have been living here my whole life, I always maintained my parenting habits. There are too many things that I don't like. I learned to let go so as not to offend anyone for their habits. And I still do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For some reason my grandmother impressed me more although I only saw her for a short period in my life. I feel a stranger too but that easily happens if you grow up between two different cultures and both groups do not accept you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no acceptance problems. I have culture problems. It's difficult when you don't want to do things that are common to a region just because you were raised under other customs. I just adapt to everything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then you have acceptance problems too. Who stops you from not adopting the culture? In your home, you can do as you like. Don't be surprised the Spanish culture is changed and not the way your mother told you. While time stopped for you Spain has decades of influences if tourists (Dutch, German, English) whole areas filled with foreigners, and now an invasion of Muslims.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

there are people who when they speak instead of saying kind phrases, what they express is anger, perhaps their words are not their own, but copied from another person, I consider that as you read throughout life, you will learn many words that you can use both to write or express them orally.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is an interesting comment you say here. For sure it's try. Many just repeat what they hear others say not out of own experience.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

that's it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I am in your side that the way we write and speaks, shows who we really are. In this platform without faces being posted of writers, we could decipher who were male and female on the way they write. Men tend to be direct with no flowery words while women is so detailed, but there is an exemption. But generally it is. Slowly, day by day reading in their article we will begin to know them personally, their status in life, and the kind of person they are.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is not only by the articles we write but in daily life too. I don't think you can easily tell by how people write if they are male or female but if you hear how people speak, the words they use you know a lot about them. Aggression, hidden anger, enthusiastic, emotional, educated, etc...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your right, I was not so detailed in my comment. You can tell who are good writers, who are deligent in reading articles in order to comment in relation to the topic, and who are respectful, making sure not to offend the writer through the comments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah you're right the one that surrounds you are the also one thah influenced you.Thanks for sharing your experiences

$ 0.00
3 years ago