Typically Dutch

8 25

I like beans and so do my children. Lucky me because beans, especially those in a jar or canned, are not that expensive. Not all beans are the same if it comes to vitamins and minerals. Some are hard to digest and if they make you fart constantly it's no fun to eat them. I guess it's the main reason why people gave up on brown, kidney, and white beans. Typical Dutch recipes for the winter are soup made out of brown beans, brown beans with bacon, green pea soup, and (rarer) soup made out of big white beans.
It's not difficult to make such a soup for the cold winter days but to most modern women (hardly any is a housewife only these days) it's too much work. It's possible the new generation doesn't even know how to cook it.

Green beans do not all look or taste the same.
In the Netherlands, we eat them green. In some countries, you only see yellow. These beans taste great a bit raw with mustard or applesauce if you like.



The most tasty one's are those my grandmother made. She used fresh beans and cooked them with tomato and soy sauce. Her "cooking" was more like steaming. If you have times and pay attention you can do it with some butter as well.

What you see on the plate is typical Dutch.
1/3 vegetables, 1/3 potatoes and 1/3 meat.

I cooked the potatoes with scale. I don't like peeling potatoes plus most vitamins are in or underneath the scale (vitamin C included). I just added a bit of salt at the end (salt with iodine).

The green beans are just cooked in a bit water, no salt

The sausages are pork. I bought them vacuum wrapped which means no fridge needed. They are meant for bbq and mainly available during summer (sold by Aldi supermarket package of 6 pieces). I did not fry them in a pan but in a low fat fryer which is a kind of oven.

It's small and electric. I mainly use for chicken, these sausages and to make old bread a bit fresher. It's impossible to bake a pie in it. I tried it all. The benefit of it is I do not need to watch it, no fat everywhere and it can defrost food as well. Although I have all kinds of tools Ican not really cook with it.

@Isabellaa hosts a smartphone photography contest. If you like you can join. The topic is free. You need to write 200+ words with your photo/s. Deadline August 24. Interested? See here https://read.cash/@Isabellaa/photography-contest-9b7c

#kittywu #beans #fastfood

13
$ 0.18
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Isabellaa

Comments

It's great photography dear๐Ÿ˜ looking so delicious . What is it in your 2nd pic? Red one?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Delicious ๐Ÿ˜‹,best for diet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like beans too but they make me fart :D I like the potatoes and beans combo. Sausages not my platter of meal. Ah what is "typical Dutch"? Is it equal parts? Interesting. When we go out lunch or dinner with friends, we would say, lets go Dutch. I always wondered what that meant. But we would split the bill basically. I like the electric fryer/oven. I have an air fryer but hardly use because I can't seem to get the timing and temperature right for the food that I want to fry which ended up tasting quite odd.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What on Earth are those red, slimy, translucent sausages.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You cook potatoes like my mom did. The potatoes well washed with their shell and put in water with a little salt.

Then I add the marinade with a little oil, vinegar and very small crushed garlic.

Those green beans are delicious in salad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The typical dutch plate looks a bit bland for an asian who really loves sauces on her food. Why are they mostly steamed? I had hoped there were more variations on the food there

$ 0.00
3 years ago