The bank rules

14 34
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

This morning at eight I went to the car service. The Renault Clio will have it's an annual test and I picked up mine. I saved to buy a car and thought I could pay for it. Credit cards are not accepted but I have my debit card. Here we go.

It was the same misery as two years ago.

I could not pay for the car! I paid what was allowed (the daily maximum amount) and for the rest... I could watch at the amount I have saved. Annoying, yes that's what I call it annoying. My money goes to a bank who earns money with it and I am not allowed to use it when I need it! Why? Because I can be robbed.

The bank, the government, at the same hand decides to raise the amount if it comes to "contact-free payments". A payment is warned. There are tools that can easily steal the contact-free payment amount from your debit card. You only need to stay behind someone. The bank makes scams easier. € 50,- changed into € 100,-.

Should I be happy with that decision? I am not and that's the reason I switched this option off. If I am not allowed to decide myself which amount I find safe enough to be robbed by it's a big NO for me, contact-free paying therefor is a big no.

The car seller told the banking apps aren't safe either.

They are good for a scam. A customer told him he received an email from his son. The son asked him to transfer 400 euros so he could buy a phone. The father wasn't that stupid and called him. "I didn't send you an email, I don't need a new phone", the perplexed son said. Right after the call the customer received the next email: Did you already send the 400 euro?

It's clear this is a scam and no fun and telebanking is not safe. You easily get hacked and scammed and no bank will help you if you are so stupid to believe each message you receive or text you read.

Not that long ago I received a text my bank account would be blocked for my safety.

I should contact the bank at once. At once wasn't possible for me because I read the text three days later. Thanks to my slow internet connection I wasn't able to read/click on the link and because I discussed it with my children the scam was clear and I ignored it further on. The only thing I did was writing to the bank. Of course, they didn't respond. Customer service is rare these days. You don't pay them to work for you but to do the job yourself, work others did for you and the bank can no longer afford to pay for. Does it make sense?

I decided to go back home and check all the banking aspects or simply transfer the needed amount to my children and pay with their debit cards.

Good, there are four debit cards that we can use if we are together. The car seller told me I better take the car because it's raining and pay the rest later. I doubt I will remember all the changes and rules if I need a higher amount next time but I count on the fact cash payments still exist and that's why I will visit the ATM now and in the next days, give up on saving at the bank and take my money back.

Be a columnist join the community SST: Columnist
https://read.cash/c/sst-columnist-94cc

#kittywu #bankpolicy

12
$ 1.11
$ 1.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Banking is just annoying and troublesome these days. Unfortunately many countries set limits for cash transactions, making it hard to stay away from them. But don't think anything you have with a bank is yours. It belongs to the government; you are allowed to use it as long as you do as they say - but if you don't, you may find your bank assets frozen. They decide, not you. Who owns it then?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It sounds like my passport. I pay for it but it isn't mine.

I will take as much as I can. I prefer to pay cash anyway. It is what I did with each car of mine and other things I bought. No loans for me.

👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, passports are part of the same suppressive system.

I never borrow either. Someone in debt is not free.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There was a long time it was promoted to take a loan. Weird is if you never took one the bank will not easily give you one because they cannot check if you will pay off your debts. If you ask me it's the world upside down. I love my freedom so it's a big no for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree absolutely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Banking has become a game of cat-and-mouse everywhere now. Scammers up and down looking for how to steal your money. It's sad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is sad indeed but you cannot blame a scammer for a bank being so lousy and easy to hack. I wonder how they get away with it. I am with a bank now which went bankrupt. I didn't choose it but the one I was with joined the bankrupt one and strangely enough that name was used.

Well, I took my money and more in the future. It's better for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have little experience with online banking and figuring out card payment limits, because luck have it I'm poor and dying :] My broke-ass joke-ass can't buy a car.

Shady messages we're all dealing with, but I'm surprised to read that an official and approved banking app has been infiltrated in this manner. Banks can't afford to slip up like this.

I'm still baffled whenever I find a phishing text message on my phone. It always shows up after I've done a purchase at some unconventional online store. How are businesses allowed to exist if they can't safe-keep people's data? Should be part of the basics when you set up a website that demands that kind of information, no matter if you're a bank or sell used gaming consoles.

Anyway, long story short, be poor and die.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it comes to personal data... They are sold by companies. That's one of the reasons I once had to give up on my bank account. I couldn't get rid of a sport lottery taking money of my account. I never gave them any permission and the bank claimed they couldn't help me out here. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, yes, sometimes they're outright sold as well. I don't know what's worse, being sold or stolen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a worldwide scam nowadays. Messages and calls coming from different parts of the world, it is so frightening when we think about it. I refuse to answer calls from unknown numbers. But banks earn from us through interests. It is sad that we are indebted for life sometimes and taken advantage of by scammers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do the same. All Anonymous calls are blocked and if it's an unknown number I don't answer. If they keep calling me every few minutes I check the number on the internet. In most cases, it's a scam which means I block it too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo yes... I check each time a funny number calls me. And I block them too! How terrible the world has become.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it is made so easy to hack, spam, and make an income with scam it's understandable people do it and get creative. The thing is people buy it, therefore accept it and it's not fought by enough. If crime pays (better) than honest work... Banks show you how they do it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago