The ant

1 23

Stay safe


As Mandy entered the room she felt an outsider. Fidelo and Jim seem to get along well and Ben immediately took his seat next to Jim's bed. What could have possibly happened in such a short period that brought them so close? The chief inspector and Jim looked at a map while Ben was busy taping something. A navigation system was on the floor in front of his feet. What are those men up to?

"I need to tell you something", she said, " I've been in hospital and..."

Three pairs of eyes looked at her.

"I tried to call you for days", Ben answered.

"They found me", Jim added to it.

"Ben and I will leave within thirty minutes so, please..."

Fidelo didn't seem to be interested in what she had to tell. It made her feel comfortable. She kept standing while she told how she decided to do a DNA test to know if the girl the doctor treated was her daughter.

"The test was positive."

"You recognize any of this?", Ben pointed at the things he had dropped at the bed.

"No, just the wraps look familiar. My favorite chocolate bar."

"The doll?"
She shook her head.

"Where do you buy these bars?"

"I don't. I haven't bought them since I left but I left a box behind for... Aren't you guys asking me where she is?"

"They already know where she is. Fidelo met her."

Jim felt tired and he wasn't in the mood to explain more.

Ben put the evidence back in the bag. The doll was a mystery but he wouldn't give up that easily.

"Ready?"

Ben nodded.

"Get some sleep Jim", I bring some food on my way home. Drink your juice and you can use this phone if you need me. Our numbers are programmed."

He handed over a small Nokia. It was older but did what it had to do and the battery lasted longer.

"Do not answer the door."

"You have to go now". Fidelo lead Mandy out of the room, "Jim needs rest and he is better off with Ben as at home. Where will you stay?"

Perplexed she looked at him. She had told them what had happened, shouldn't they be glad, embrace her?

"At home, Jim's place. I have some things.."

"Write down exactly where you were and what you have done. I expect you at the police station tomorrow at 10 a.m. Be punctual."

He let her outside and left with Ben in his car. Not one more minute of his time he would spend to her. She would find her way like she always did, wherever that would be. She wasn't different from those annoying, giant ants ignoring and walking over you because you sat in their way. Those creatures who bit you and couldn't be killed by any poison.

Prompt: ant poison

This is part 44 of a (rewrite) story. Good practice for joining NaNoWriMo

#kittywu #story #freewrite

2
$ 0.12
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Wow nice article! Good job!

$ 0.00
3 years ago