NaNoWriMo

9 57
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Will you join?

I did once after I joined MarchMadness on Steemit. MarchMadness isn't that much different from NaNoWriMo except it was in March and those who joined wrote a novel with given prompts. These prompts could be a single word or a sentence.

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. The idea is to write a novel in one month. This means you write daily, thirty days at one piece, without a break. It is possible to ask for help if you join and to write in a different language as well. Actually, you join your own country which means you write in your own language. Some countries (regions) are very active and organize(d) meetings as well. This might sound great if you need assistance and have time to travel but it's not my way of working. I'm an introvert which means I prefer to stay home. Besides... I joined MarchMadness in English (my first big try) and NaNoWriMo in English as well. If this was a smart thing to do I don't know but I did it and made it. I even wrote both novels on my smartphone!

Of course, after 30 days no novel is finished. It needs to be reread, edited, preferable read by others and with some luck, you can publish it. Some have a publisher who takes care of everything, many publish themselves these days which is an option too (Amazon for example although they do not accept people worldwide).

The more words you need to type the harder it is. I suffered from terrible pain in my hand, wrists, and finger and still suffer from it. Typing 50,000 words (about 1666 a day) isn't easy on a mobile phone but like said it is possible especially if you can use Grammarly.

What to write about?

I had no idea at the moment I said I would join MarchMadness. No plot, storyline, characters in mind, nothing just a blank mind and... no idea how to type down 1666 words. The only thing I knew, wanted was to write a tale. Is it possible to write a tale in 50,000 words?

I sat down with a blank mind, used the prompt, and started writing and stuck to it. At those moments I didn't know how to continue I wrote "blah blah blah what next" and wrote on or did something else (house chores, some reading) and thought over what to write about next. During those days I reread parts, rewrote, at times searched for what I exactly wrote.

It worked for me. Daily I wrote the needed amount of words. On some days more because I intended to finish my novel a few days earlier, because of December 5. I even didn't write for a few days or only a few words (every word counts) to keep the writing spirit.

Of course, it's easy to create extra words easily and after rereading and editing you might delete a lot. That doesn't matter since it's what writers and editors do should dare to do. Delete what adds nothing to your story, the weak parts, and rewrite. Don't be easily satisfied.

If you like to do something new, challenge yourself, give writing a try do join. You can ask for support. It is helpful if you deal with a writer's block, need to ventilate. You can publish parts of what you wrote, read, others, and learn how to deal with all those issues typical for writers who do not have the luxury to write the whole day and night.

You can sign up at NaNoWriMo

Writing help

Words you can count with wordcounter

Grammarly can help you with your grammar, style and so much more.

If you need a plot or prompt (helpful if you don't know how to continue your story) visit writing exercises. They provide you with plots, first-line sentences, characters, prompts, and a lot more to help you keep writing.

Two till three of these articles is what you need to write a day to have enough words.

wordcounter.net uses Grammarly too.

#kittywu #nanowrimo #marchmadness #challenge #30daynovel

7
$ 1.34
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Estoy muy seguro de que es difícil escribir una trama con todo lo que dice, aunque me ayuden con los consejos y tenga el contador de palabras. Me gustaría saber como lograr esto, y leyendo a varias personas que se están dando una oportunidad en lugares como ésta plataforma, parece ser viable empezar a escribir micro temas. Gracias.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think I can write so much :D I remember Mariannewest wrote like a daily diary, but I forgot was it for MarchMadness or last year's NaNoWriMo. I haven't thought much about it because it sounds hard :P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There was such a thing? I wonder if my inktober prompts would apply 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you can make a novel out of it and write those 50,000 words why not. It is good and tips are given. I just received one and checked if my earlier stories (novels) fit to those rules. I didn't care about them and didn't work out any of my stories but the answers are yes, yes, yes...(20x) which means there's no need to work out a whole story before you start. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm... I'm at 5,000 words now so far at D-7 of inktober but it's easy to add words. I think I'll make it to 30,000 words by the 31st then hopefully i can just edit it and add more descriptions on the scenarios as well as more dialogues because here, I just aimed not to overwhelm the reader throughout the entire inktober celebration

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Go for it. I love to see it and see if you can publish it yourself. You can start with an e-book or so. Good luck. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll give that a try. Is there a sort of deadline for this though?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

NaNoWriMo starts the first if November and ends November 30 but you can start now or later. It's just to help, push writers, give them tips, etc kill the writer's block (around day 15). I will join no matter what. I can edit, add, change later too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks like I'll be joining that later on but i should edit this inktober prompt first

$ 0.00
3 years ago