Testing cheesecakes

13 50

The bus-kid wanted to make a cheesecake and we tried again. The quark they sell here is not what I call quark. Some chunks in fluid and you can stir as much as you like it will never get smooth. The reason we bought it was because it was on sale (close to the expiry date). No cream added to it this time. We bought a mascarpone. Mascarpone is just like quark a diary and it is one of the first stages of cheese. Unfortunately, it is expensive.

Ingredients:

  • 450 grams of "quark"

  • 250 grams of mascarpone

  • 150 grams of sugar

  • 4 tablespoons custard

  • salt

  • 3 eggs

  • Milk

Because it was a bit too much we divided it.

One part we baked in the oven, the other part in the low-fat fryer.

low fat fryer

The low-fat fryer circulates hot air. The lamps are built in the lid. The main problem is how to avoid the cheesecake is burned before it's ready.

The old fashioned oven works with gas. A gas bottle (camping gas). There's only heat in the bottom, no thermostat.

Baking time

Low fat fryer: 40 minutes - 150°C we covered the cheesecake with aluminum foil.

As the baking time was over the foil was removed. The top wasn't colored. 15 more minutes baking time solved that problem.

The cheesecake tasted good.

Oven: 40 minutes - 150 °C the oven had issues and it was hard to keep the temperature constant (180°C should be better for 40 minutes). The oven needed more time and as the cheesecake.

Made in the oven

The result

Both cheesecakes needed more time in the oven. The one made by the low fat fryer tasted better and looked better.

The "quark" lumps became hard! It was not tasty and for sure will not use this product again. What to use instead? Perhaps mascarpone plus cream plus? (we need to figure that out) is a better solution.

Second try

It is only one day later we give it another try. I picked up the bus-kid from the bus station and the first thing it asked was "Can we buy " tejföl" Translated tejföl should mean sour cream but if you ask me it is not. At least not what we consider as sour cream. It's a milk product, no yogurt, kind of tasteless, and a bit thicker than mascarpone. The texture is thick, smooth, and more like quark (not the same taste). Since the child really wants to try it out ("We can make it for a birthday pie") we visit two shops to find what we are looking for.

The child knows it has to be cheap and cheap is what they call "Farmföld". It's fake, some milk products they added palm fat too. Palm fat in high amounts causes cancer and we will not buy it. I wonder why these days palm fat is added to everything. Do real, natural products no longer exist?

We buy the real milk product "tejföl" 300 grams plus 250 grams of mascarpone. Added to it is 100 grams of sugar, 1 vanilla sugar, 4 tablespoons of custard, a bit salt, and 3 egg yolks.

The egg white is mixed separately till it's white and won't fall out of the bowl if you keep it upside down. Carefully add it to the dough.

Low fat fryer: 40 minutes - 60°C and we cover it with aluminum foil.

Once the baking time is over we remove the foil and add 15 more minutes - 150°C which is too much if it comes to the color. Next time it will be 5 minutes at most.

It looks good but it is late and we went off to bed. The next morning we had a piece for early breakfast. The bus-kid had to take it on his way to school.

The youngest who left two hours later could try it at home.

It tasted could but it misses something. A bit of extra taste. Perhaps some lemon juice will make it taste better with a marmalade made out of cherries after some powder sugars on top of it.

If you ask me "tejföl" is a good substitute although the recipe needs a bit extra to make it taste better and forget it's not made out of quark.

#kittywu #recipe #cheesecake #lowfatfryer

46
$ 1.75
$ 1.75 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

I'm craving. Huhu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I ate it all and that's why I can tell you the one out of the oven was no success. I need to find a different solution. Who knows someone has a tip. Like the psychics teacher or so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Look delicious and some like pudding..(^_^)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheesecake is indeed like pudding. I did not make a bottom because I intend to eat fewer carbohydrates and gluten.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try to make banana pudding,,(^_^)..it also taste good..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yayy I like cheese cake. I really like the taste of cheese. Delicious and smell good also. Thanks dear for sharing the recipe. Good day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It smells good indeed. That is the best thing about baking you smell it in your house. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wo;w it's look delisious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheesecake is my favorite.I usually eat it our local restaurant.Due to Covid-19 pandemic I am staying at home.I am not eating foods of outside.Thank you dear @wakeupkitty for the recipe of cheesecakes and tips to make a good cheesecake.I will tell my sister to make this yummy cheesecake I'm our new Oven.If she will make this I will knock you about the testes of the cheesecake.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, please let me know. If winter starts I will make one where I only bake the cake and the cheese is not baked. An old recipe of a German neighbor. The best one I ever had. Cheesecake is not sold here by shops, restaurants or bakers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

my favourite....cake is always favourite... and chessecake is awesome taste...i can make chesscake... last month i bake the cake and taste is too good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps you like to share that recipe with me? I never had it. I prefer to make my cakes and pies myself. It tastes better but the problem is my oven.

$ 0.00
3 years ago