Teenagers

11 33
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

I wonder how many parents make thoughts about cute babies turning into stubborn, smelling teenagers covered with pimples. We meet those kids outside on the street. They are not very attractive, at times annoying and rude. The good news is that annoying kid isn't ours, it won't happen to us, not to our child. We are the parent who will raise it in the right way. Our kid will not end up living on the street, be an alcoholic, drug addict, a whore (men included), rapist, thief, scammer or end up with a knife in his/her back while delivering the newspaper at 5 am.

How can we be sure we do a great job while raising our child(ren)? Can we be sure at all? If I see the high amount of children growing up with foster parents, teenagers living on the street, at the orphan- and foster homes, altogether we parents, adults, do a terrible job.

Frequently I hear people complain about the "present youth" but they forget what they see is the product of: raising x character x society. If you accept certain behavior you reward it which means it will continue. I agree, totally agree, it's hard to raise a child these days but it doesn't mean it's impossible and you should set it free to do as it likes. It's not what I do with my children.

Society is the main reason why the youth (and their parents) are raised without boundaries, norms, values. We live in a society where clear answers are not given, and "we" should talk endlessly about the good, bad, the results of deeds, and children only need to promise not to do it again.

What we forget is children are children and not each child is capable to understand what you say plus children lie and cheat. Children are not innocent. What we overlook too is children, just like adults, need to know how far they can go, they need to have clear rules to live by. Life is not about fun, partying only.

Ignoring the facts because "they are just teenagers", telling yourself badly, extreme behavior is normal because of hormonal change, or "all kids go through such a period" in their lives is fooling yourself. If you, as a parent, say this it's an excuse for not raising your child(ren) and it says a lot about you.

I am not saying a child needs to be a model citizen but it does need to understand a society only functions with rules. Within these rules is plenty of room left for own ideas, plans, adventure, development, creativity, or whatever a teenager looks for. If you have children it's your task, your responsibility, to raise them well. If you start raising from the day they are born you might notice all those small excuses are based on nothing. Puberty is not the period that makes children misbehave. A lack of rules, not being close, keeping a close eye on your child, and holding it responsible for own deeds are reasons why a child loses track.

The community Parenting is for parents who share their own experiences if it comes to parenting.

#kittywu #parenting #teenagers #puberty

12
$ 0.20
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

I wonder if this is what my mother considered as she was raising us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can ask her. I never considered the fact a baby would grow older with my first, never they would be teenagers and never believed in "puberty". I never blame periods in one's life or life experiences as the cause of bad behavior or being a failure. If I would have do that I have plenty of excuses to misbehave myself. I wonder if that would have made my life easier.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every terrible person in the world was once a baby held by someone, and that's always a strange thing to imagine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is indeed and it's not even said those who hold most turned into the best people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed, you have said it all. My mom was strict to me when I was a child never showers me with affection but she thought me how to be strong and stand alone. I am not saying I am grateful at all because being raised with affection was desirable but still I am thankful because if she wasn't strict I shouldn't have known some limitations. Now that I am a parent myself, I am trying to balance how to raise my child to have values and norms also with a touch of affection. I hope I will be a successful parent somebody raising a child in a good way because I can only know if I succeed after seeing my child's behavior if she grew up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup so true. All you said is accurately well said my friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is true teenagers nowadays are difficult to handle. Unlike before a gazing eyes like a dagger makes you tremble, to behave and evade mistakes comparing today's children misbehave, unrespectful and irresponsible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe that education is in communication with our children. If we do not share the thoughts or ideas of children or adolescents, it cannot be expected that as an adult they want to comment or ask for information or advice about what the child or adolescent receives. Raising children is not an easy task, but sharing opinions to try to learn mutually as individuals to each one is important.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do not know much of raising a child for I am just starting to raise one myself and she is only around 2 years old.

I do not know about raising a teenager but I do know how stubborn a teenager can be for I am one of them once, I guess.

I am not sure how my parents want to raise me but they once told me that we did not raise you to live with difficulties.

I believe that they kept giving me the task to do so that I can be trained to be a responsible person. Perhaps...

I believe my parents raise me well but I did not become as what they expected I think. I did not become the perfect daughter of their hope and dreams.

As I am writing this, my father called me and ask about an accident near the place we live. One thing for sure, I know they care.

$ 0.00
3 years ago