Surprise

7 35
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

It's time to start. The past year I did nothing and this year I am back again. No, I do not feel like it but if I don't start I'll never do it again and it's the last celebration left. Most presents are already bought or ordered or found and the only thing left is the surprise.

In this case, a surprise is a homemade gift, something you hide the real present in. Lazy people, uncreative people give something like a pot of syrup and push the present inside. A bit more creative people make out of "breakfast cake" a fake heap of poop where, somewhere inside, something hides. It should be something from your wishlist (presents with a total amount of... (whatever is decided) but in most cases you better not count on it if the "surprise" already sucks.

Out of a class of 30-40 pupils, you most likely see 2-3 great surprises. With great, I mean really great. You can tell who the artistic children (or mothers!) are at once. The only sad thing is these children rarely receive something nice. Indeed greed plays a bigger role than creativity if it comes to the December 5th celebration in the Netherlands. It is a national celebration day. The holy man appeared at school, cookies, hot chocolate and the famous "kruidnoten and candies" were thrown in the air. Celebrating in the morning and free off in the afternoon. Time to relax or make the last preparations for the celebration of this evening with the family.

We celebrated it last year but skipped the surprise-part. In the past years, we always did our handcraft during the first weeks of the Summer holidays. The youngest children needed help and it was the only way. Since they are older now they can do the job themselves. At least I hope they can. I gave them some suggestions (a surprise should be part of the interest of the one who it is meant for) and the poems belonging to it are the finest for the biggest part.

I cleaned out the crate with paint and started with what I made yesterday. Lucky me there's black after all I am just nearly out of white. Unfortunately, I cannot invest that much time in it which means I need to hurry. The person I make a surprise for lives underneath my roof.

The first plan that popped up in my mind I skipped this weekend. It would be too much work for me (at least I think it would but I doubt this one goes faster) and since I changed my mind about the surprise I need to change my poem as well and find some trash. I thought about visiting the market place again, alone but I think the child's room is an option too (no waste).

The next step (hopefully tomorrow) is making a painting on a wall and repaint what I did today. I think I can do it unless I have a bad day again.

#kittywu #freewriting #surprise #5december

15
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Hope you get the inspiration to see what a surprise you get from all of that. Happy celebration!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

5th december is like the Christmas celebration for you guys?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

December 5th, in some countries December 6th is Saint Nicholas day. He gave gifts to the poor. Not only poor children but adults too. For example he threw cold coins through a window so the daughters could get married. Might be thats's why with us candy but also "coins" (chocolate is hidden inside) is thrown or these days given away. About 3 weeks (always on Saturday's) he arrives and from that moment on you can put your shoe in front of the chimney. If his acrobatic helpers all named Piet stop by they put something in it. Candies or a small gift. As year's passed by the celebration changed. My granny said only present at this particular morning. Unwrapped and they all found it on their seat at the breakfast table. We do not celebrate Christmas with presents so I guess this is what we have. I am not sure if it is instead. Christmas is officially the midwinter celebration, food, nuts, the trees it all belongs to midwinter same like Father Winter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh that seems like a much grander celebration than the celebrations we have here. So everything lasts 3 weeks? That entire celebration and gift giving time?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't forget to share the finish product! :) enjoy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll see if and when I can share it. It needs to be a surprise. Perhaps I will in different articles. Thank for stopping by. I hope you are doing well. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you're doing well too. and yes, put it on a different article. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago