Sunflowers

29 53

Who observes sunflowers know they do not always face the sun. Great tales are written about sunflowers, how they came alive (a girl fell in love with the sun, was allowed to marry him but not look at him. Exactly that was what she did...)

What a sad face this girl has.

From a distance, the field of sunflowers looks great but once near there are some strange creatures growing. So many heads are bend down. It's kind of depressing.

Handicapped?

There are plenty of sunflowers among the dirt road I don't need to walk into the field to take some photos.

A closer look (macro option) turned out to be no good in combination with the wind. Holding still is too much asked. My phone had a closer look at the hairs instead of the bud. How odd.

Hairy it is.

Not all sunflowers growing here are the same species. It might explain why a part is small and has more than one flower.

The three above all grow at the same plant. Indeed these sunflowers look like plants. They are not the same as the very first I showed.

As you can see not all sunflowers face the sun, face in the same direction. It's a tale just like the girl who turned into a sunflower, the very first sunflower.

Many sunflowers, especially the bigger ones already face the ground. Soon the yellow and green will make room for dark brown till black. The color of dry, dead sunflowers. They will shrink and wait till the farmer stops by to cut them all.

I was too slow to take a photo of a bee look-alike insect visiting the sunflowers. It looked as if it lost all its color.

Camera: mobile phone Samsung A10

Macro option: partly used.

PhotoGrid (free app) used to make the photos smaller.

#kittywu #smartphonephotography #sunflowers #summer

16
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Those are some beautiful flowers. I always wondered why they were named sunflowers when they DO NOT face the sun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess they are named that way because they look like the sun? The yellow are the beams. Someone start calling them that way perhaps out of fun or? The rest of the world population adopted the word like they do with everything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I think it was someone's joke that everyone became fond of.

But whatever the story behind it is, it's amazing how it looks away from the sun and still ends up looking like it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. 😁💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice captured 💞💞💞💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting. It took me a while because my allergies came back and I couldn't stop sneezing. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A girl was allowed to marry the sun? Who has the authority to make that decision?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In this case it was the mother of the sun. I believe the girl lived with her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What does the mother of a big ball of fire look like.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice picture s

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hi how are you I always read your posts especially the article about your life and the things you do every day your posts are good Informative.💓💓💓

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading and telling me. If these are posts you like you can write/make them yourself. It would do read.cash good. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's amazing seeing this beautiful sunflower. But I guess those sunflower that faces the sun looks healthy compared to those who are not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No those who face the sun are not per se more healthy plus it's impossible to face the sun because the sun is not always at the same spot. As I took the photo not one of the flowers faced the sun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The first time saw big sunflowers I was amazed because here in our place sunflowers are seldom and small. But in the pine city of country grows big sunflower it is where I saw one. They are beautiful and now during harvest session it could now reach in our place but so costly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are not really big. They can easily grow 6-8 feet. I think it's for the seeds, perhaps eating them or making oil out of it. These are not sold at the flower shops.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But here in our place it is sold and use for decors.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful sunflowers. Where did you get this crop? I tried to draw them once but it is difficult for someone who does not know how to draw.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am surrounded by fields. There are two with sunflowers,there's corn and wheat at the moment. If it's harvested the farmers grow something else.

Instead of drawing you can use paint and dot the sunflower.... It's possible to do so with a cloth, piece of a sponge or your fingertip. From a distance it will look great. The rest is practising.

🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have not seen a sunflower, except in movies and pictures. Your pictures were so close making me appreciate it more. Yes the so many heads down when you look at a field filled with sunflower is really kind of depressing. I hope to hold one some day. Does it have good fragrance?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You never saw a sunflower? They are easy to grow. Children at school often receive some seeds and the task is to grow the highest sunflower. They do not really smell but some insects seem to like them. I guess the colour is attractive enough.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I never saw a sunflower. My Nigeria, my country. Teachers focus more on completing the terms curriculum. More of note copying, less explanation and no practicals. Summary of my school days. Though education here is improving. This is Nigeria.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I keep it in mind. I will see if I can lay my hands on sunflower seeds and save them. I wonder if it is possible to send them by mail.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. Inconveniencing someone is not my thing. Maybe some day, when I am financially capable, I will go on a country tour, "The search for sunflower"

$ 0.00
3 years ago