Stay away

2 29
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Writing, Freewrite, Life, 2022, Blogging, ...

I thought it was Monday, it turns out to be Wednesday. So I'm missing a day or two, depending on how you look at it. It's a good thing I still have a diary. I write a bit less in it because I'm busy but I also keep a garden diary. Gardening is not going well for me. It is either too cold or too hot. In the former case, nothing happens to the seeds and in the latter case, the soil dries out so quickly that it does seed, seedlings and plants no good. The state of affairs: my lemon plants that survived the winter seem dead. I have now put the pots under the walnut tree. Hopefully, getting them out of the sun will be the cure. By the way, they survived the winter in the bathroom, although this is one of the coldest places in the house.

Yesterday I had a blackout. Maybe that is why I missed a day?

There was no electricity for a large part of the day. So I was outside extra early to water the plants and animals. It looked overcast but there was not a drop of rain. So I stayed inside and took it easy. These days, I go to bed too late and get up too early. As a result, I get less than four hours of sleep a night. I watched part of Ozark (downloaded and my phone was charged) but had trouble staying awake. I also drank litres of water (prepared so I can get through the day). It seems that the energy company has changed name or has been taken over. Maybe that was the reason why the day was reported without electricity? In any case, I did not really suffer. To be honest, it was nice and quiet. Strange how something like a day without electricity can give a person so much peace.

Today I went back to gardening.

I needed to mow and of course, all my plants and animals need water again. To be honest, I find it hard to figure out exactly how much water is needed. Let's face it, the rain doesn't take into account a plant that doesn't like water on its leaves and I never see farmers watering their crops. It feels like it has more to do with luck than a green thumb.

It was windy this morning, which was nice and fresh while mowing (I put on a jumper), but I could collect all kinds of things from the garden. The boxes I want to use to cover the weeds so I can plant on them and the wasp trap I made out of an empty bottle.

I also saw the warning signs in the garden. These still need to be put back on the gate to warn this is private property and dangerous territory because there are wolves around.

May 18, 2022

#kittywu #life #diary #may #freewrite

7
$ 9.83
$ 9.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Writing, Freewrite, Life, 2022, Blogging, ...

Comments

Here, we're used to the blackouts cos it happens frequently. I hope your electricity has been restored?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At periods it happens here frequently too. Not good for any equipment or device and a good reason not to have a fridge, computer or laptop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago