Saving water

27 37
Avatar for wakeupkitty
4 years ago

It's amazing the amount of water I use.

Do you know how much you need daily?

For drinking only I need 4 liters a day.

With five wolves around I need 50 liters more. If it's hot they like to jump in the pond but there's no water. The pond is empty over one year by now. I never refilled it since my water comes from my own well.

There are only two plants in my house. They can survive without much water. Once in a month one mug water is enough. Those plants can do without much light and are the only ones so far who survived the cold winters. Winters we are not able to heat the house and sit inside wearing our winter coats, gloves, sit underneath a blanket and a beanie, and still feel cold.

Once awhile a shower would be nice.

I have a tub but it's years ago I used it. By now even a short shower once a week is no longer an option. It's no problem. With water, soap and a washcloth one can be clean too but that costs me water. So does brushing teeth twice a day (4 glasses a day). Washing my hair is an issue. Dirty smelling hair is no fun neither is an itchy head. I have no idea how much water is needed for that but I guess about 5 liters. How to wash my long hair, pouring the water on my head I didn't figure out yet.

What more do I need water for?

Cooking, doing the dishes about 5 liters, cleaning the house (I skipped most of it and use vinegar) 10 liters mainly to mop floors, flushing the toilet 40 liters, and doing the laundry (one washing machine a week) needs about 20 liters.

How to reduce water?

The fact I know how much I use is because buckets and bottles of water are filled daily. If it comes to drinking, cooking, doing the dishes, brushing teeth, and washing I use the water from the city tap. I need to drive for it but there's no other option. As long as the winter did not start the taps are open. Without rain, I, use it for the wolves too.

If there would be rain (we had a bit yesterday for long) I use it for the wolves and if there's more to flush the toilet about 2, at times 3, times a day.

Cleaning up the place

There's not much cleaning with water these days. I use vinegar in a spray bottle. Vinegar is cheap plus it kills a lot you do not like to have around. A broom and wet cloth get rid of sand and dust too.

I do the dishes every few days. The water I reuse to flush the toilet if it isn't too dirty.

The laundry

My main problem. I ran a washing machine and poured water into it each time I heard it trying to add water. It partly worked (the noise worries me though) so I need to work out something else.

I found a laundromat.

It was closed because of the Coronavirus but the lady was willing to do the sheets. This will cost me money but without water, one hasn't many options and it's good to have clean sheets for a change.

For sure no water means I have to spend more money to get it.

Driving up and down to the city tap cost me gasoline, so does the laundromat plus I buy water and orange juice and some different food so I do not need water for cooking and have fewer dishes to wash. Hopefully, a hairdresser isn't needed to wash my hair.

13
$ 0.53
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
Avatar for wakeupkitty
4 years ago

Comments

Nice article my dear.. Drinking water is a good habit.. We have to drink more water.. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Some say we need to drink more others say we don't because the kidneys aren't a sieve and need to work hard. Thanks for stopping by. 😁

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Right.. Do you drink others?? Just for fun..Don't mind my dear..😆

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Actually I thought about a book I read about one till two generations ago. The author said during these days people hardly drank. It made me think. Were people more hydrated or are we because we eat different food?

I drink water tea and started with orange juice for vitamin C 😂💕

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Ooo...this is really good my dear.. I also like to drink tea and orange juice.. 😍

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Very good work!keep it up! I like your description!water is life!take adequet amount of water everyday.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

What is adequate? This is more about reducing the amount of water we use daily. Most water needs to be cleaned before we use it. I read in the newspapers some water companies give less water because there isn't much. If you live at the end of the waterline you have hardly any water pressure because others used it.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I just want to say that every day we waste a lot of water due to unnecessary negligence, we should be careful.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

We should indeed and think about how to reduce it. It wasn't one or two generations ago people were more dirty but for sure they didn't use so much water as we do.

Thanks for your contribution to this subject. 👍💕

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Your part of the world really have issue of water. Here in my part we get water when ever we want and do everything went to do with water without really thinking about the cost, cause it doesn't really cost much here. Though we have to buy water sometimes from water vendor yet we do not count the cost because it is readily available whenever you need it. From your article, i think i will henceforth be conteous about how we use water here.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Isn't that strange? I mean rivers flow, there's so much sea in this world. How can there be a lack of it?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

That's really strange. Are you sure you are not facing a position drought in the near future

$ 0.00
4 years ago

What can we do without water?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I wish I had the answer. It would make life way easier.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Water is one of the essential in man needs ,we use it everyday so what is good to the body

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You have written a nice article about your usage of water. It reminds how much water we actually waste daily. There are people who faceses lacking of water. So, it will be wise not to waste from now.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You have written a very nice article about water 💦 thanks

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Water is very abundant. Even where I live which is the desert 🌵 🐫 right now there are only Sands and our only source is the sea.. but still here I am abundant of water.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

This is a nice piece of writing from yoir sid regsrsing water. Yes we are wasting a lot of water. Unecesaryly

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I hope it makes people think and try to save a bit more. If you do no longer have it you know it's real value.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

water is now necessary elements for our daily life.without drinking water we can't live.thanks for your articles.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

A major role of water in our life.we don't save our life without water.thanks for sharing article.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thank you for reading and commenting. I hope you help saving water.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

"Water is life". Do you know you can survive for some time without food, but you cannot without water. We must not joke with water affairs.

$ 0.00
4 years ago