Robbed

0 37

I couldn't sleep and for those who can't just like me the night is long.

Counting sheep? Trust me, it doesn't work. It's difficult to count if you can't see in the dark.

I tried to lie on my other side but the wall was in my way and there was also a draft in my ear.

My duvet was also way too small. Did I grow overnight?

One thought after another ran through my mind. It's incredible how much a person needs to figure out. How do others clear their heads? Is there a button to turn off the thinking?

The clock is ticking and I'm tired of checking.

Outside I hear an owl and other sounds are playing in my head that I can't identify.

The doctor promised that if I cut out the afternoon naps, I would sleep like a baby at night. So now we know that's a lie.

I haven't had a nap for weeks, my legs are spinning, but I still don't sleep a wink at night.

There's that annoying sound again!

I pull the blanket over my head and try to ignore it.

As long as I don't have the urge to pee, I'm fine.

What's that heavy humming in my head?

I press my hands firmly against my ears and keep repeating: I can't hear you!

I must have fallen asleep.

Once I get out of bed the house is empty! I was robbed!

Literally, everything was taken except the bed I was in, the sink and the toilet bowl. Can you imagine that?

Consider yourself lucky, the police officer said succinctly as I told my story, at least the thief didn't rob your sleep.

Tell me, doctor, how do I deal with an officer like that? Are you sure I am the one who's mad and belongs in this mental institution?

Greetings from the 6th floor.

16-1-2024

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @sj0820

Comments