Responsibility

28 55
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

I've been raised with the bible. Those phrases, Bible texts were literally beaten into me. I assume it was quite normal to raise with fear. Not only if it came to God but parents and the principal at school too. At that time it was called "respect". What those people, those who loved to punish, humiliate, threaten with plagues, etc didn't know was it did not impress me, they couldn't force me to fear what I did not believe in or to respect those I didn't respect. There was no need for me to do so. As a child, I kept my mouth shut and if not learned I was not willing to open it and respond. It would be a lost case anyway. Those who prefer to remain deaf can't hear.

As a child, I practiced being invisible.

It's the best thing one can do if you want not to be dragged into discussions but above all long for a few minutes of peace.

God would not give it to me which meant I had to do it myself. Doing it myself was the first thing I learned because praying brought me nothing. God did not reward me for it neither did my parents or grandmother, those who preached most scold, cursed, and hit most too.

At times I watch a film and am shocked about the abusement, the molesting Christians practicing. I shouldn't because I have been there, I saw them do it and I know about their history. The way they treated people and still do. Many films are made and the bad name Christians gave to innocent people, people who did not share the same opinion are countless.

As a single mom, I lived for several years in a very religious community.

A community that ruled the whole society including those who didn't believe or thought differently. A community that rejected women with an opinion of their own, who did not practice what they preached, ignored the 10 commandments, the rules. Although, they claimed they believed they did not live by the rules themselves.

It's a long time ago I gave up on my "membership" if it comes to the church.

The church I was baptized in no longer exists. It's a church, a community, that never cared about me as a person.

It's even longer ago I gave up on praying. To me, it wasn't different from wishing from a fallen star or blowing a birthday candle. Not one of those wishes came true. This realization made me act. Only if I did something a change in my life could take place.

I didn't need a god or fairy godmother to help me out of my misery.

The only thing I needed was someone to rely on, someone I could trust. That person was there and it was me. I was the one who could save me, build a better life for me. No god, no Santa, no wish or gnome could do that for me.

What is left from the way I am raised?

Not much. I don't read the bible, don't read it to my children. We do not visit any church and there's no baptizing for us. Those we meet with are world citizens, what they believe is private. The only thing left is some expressions. Phrases which are part of the language but even those sayings I hardly use these days. I do not believe in a (one) heaven and not in hell. I do not believe in all those punishments. Why should I if god is good and has a plan with all of us? If that's true and the lost sheep really counts there's no need to stick to the cattle, live by the rules because it's the plan not to do so. You can be the lost son, waste all the money, travel the world, and if you return back home bankrupt there will be a party.

The devil and hell... I can not remember they were preached to me.

Perhaps I can not remember it because it didn't impress me or it was not important? Was God already scary enough with all his punishments and plagues or is it because the bad things never happen in the devil's name?

I wish I could say "the devil made me do it" like I hear so many say but it's not true. Everything I do, I did. I can not blame any poor devil for it nor will praise a lord for his goodness because it's all on my account and I take full responsibility for it.

#kittywu #christianity #responsibility

11
$ 3.25
$ 3.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mark012207
$ 0.01 from @Akashdatta98
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Nice oneπŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much although I am not sure about the nice part I wrote. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was raised in a Christian home, Catholic to be precise. Growing up mith my parents, I had to live with compulsory Hail Marys, the early masses, the communions and following the catholic doctrine.

What is left from the way I am raised?

Not much. I don't say the rosary, I seldom go to church... I don't believe in the existence of hell or heaven. I want to believe religion created hell - their way to instil fear in the hearts of men.

I can't say "the devil made me do it", I take full responsibility for this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not catholic over here but good enough to be punished for everything and nothing by the good people going to heaven.

Let's say something broke as I heard the opposite of "respect your parents", a warning for the parents.

I don't think religion is very much alive where I live, only some villages with a certain believe stick together.

πŸ€πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Religion is the opium of the masses here. Nigeria is said to be one of the most religious countries, yet one of the most corrupt.

You will find a church or a mosque or religious setting in every nook and cranny. Yet here we are.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

-I assume it was quite normal to raise with fear.

It is wrong to be raise with fear. Children must be raised with love.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not sure if it was normal. I think it was accepted. That much accepted the police wouldn't interfere.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually, expectation is that children must be raised with love so that when those children becomes parents they'll do the same. But i guess in reality, most children are raised with fear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Many children will be raised with fear. A part in the name of God, a part in the name of alcohol or a narcissist. The reality is not as great as we paint it or like it to be.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a topic with a lot of material for discussion. But I do not dispute the beliefs and preferences of others. I have friends in every sect and in every religion. That does not limit me to respect. My time dedicated to strengthening my belief continues to grow. The relationship with God is personal. Each one lives it in his own way. Or not live it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can only agree with you. I don't know if religion should be discussed since it is personal, personal freedom and to me, it's a right for each of one to believe what fits us most. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the way of life you have today attributed to the kind of community you live in before. Your past experience in your younger years and the way you were brought up. I respect you of what you believe in. In me faith in God and reading the bible guide us to a better peaceful life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is good to hear it helps you and I hope you find that better and peaceful world. To me faith in me saved me, made my world so much better. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you are an Atheist now. Lets respect each others belief.

I was born Catholic but I transferred to Iglesia ni Cristo, I even attended a Baptist Church and now I am Born again Christian.

Religion is not important to me, whats important for me is my personal communication to God. I am not attending church by now but I read my bible everynight.

And you're right, we have the full responsibility to our actions. God give us the free will to do it.

It is just my opinion :) Lets respect each other :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

You are free to believe what you want, switch believes if it feels better to you. I wonder why you start about "respecting" each other. If you read my article you know who my friends are and to not one of us religion is a reason not to respect each other, not to be friends. Neither is sexual preference. We are world citizens or humans if you like.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Having different opinions should not offend anyone. Wakeupkitty is not an offensive person. She speaks without hypocrisy, of what she has in her heart . I am a Christian to the core. I appreciate, esteem and respect her and she is my friend. Your sincerity earned my friendship. Being a Christian, I see more value in wakeupkitty than in many who hit their chest and are hypocritical. This is what she means when she talks about this topic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know, she is very straight forward person. I have no intention of anything on my comment.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I am raised as a Christian and I guess I am still one now even though I have not gone to church, or pray amd my marriage is not even blessed in the church. I agree that my actions are on me and the devil itself is me and by blaming a devil, I only want to make myself feel better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago