Paperwork

2 18
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Yesterday was the first day for the two youngest at school and I only waited 5 hours on a parking lot next to the youngest's school. The bus-kid finished school at 10 am. It clearly was a waste of time. The schoolbooks of last year were brought to school, no one asked for it and the new ones were given which means extra books. (confusion). By bus, it went to the school of the youngest. No, this mom doesn't keep driving up and down. At this school, they told the children social distance is needed everywhere plus in the hallways and outside on the yard a facemask is needed but... no facemask in the classroom or during gymnastics. Sport is daily.

"How about catching up on the practical lessons missed instead?" I asked.

Not one word was mentioned about it. They only said the informative evening for the parents is canceled. Fine with me since it's a total waste of time and not worth driving two hours.

Hungry we two sat in the car and I finally send the kid to the bakery next to the hospital to buy us something to eat. We scratched our last pennies together. Once back the youngest arrived as one of the last students leaving school. I guess the older students left earlier.

"How about face masks?" I informed.

Not one word mentioned about wearing them. Gymnastics is twice a week for two hours. Those two hours are not after each other which means the second time the children can put on wet, sweaty, smelling clothes. The rest of the hours will be filled with mainly German, maths, and most likely history. No new schoolbooks yet but I need to pay for 1 German book 10 euro.

Back home forms to read and fill out pile up on the table. One of them is for insurance. The last schoolyear I took one for one kid. We know how that worked out. Lockdown!

"Is it needed", the youngest likes to know.

We start counting if there's any benefit.et's be clear we have health insurance which means the child will be helped by a doctor and can go to the hospital. If it breaks teeth this insurance only pays 100 euro. This is a joke for a life long tooth problem which will cost a few 1000 euros at least. About 8000 euros is paid if the child is harmed, handicapped for life. 8000 euro is good for 0.33 cents a day. You cannot pay rent, electricity for that amount not even buy a piece of bread. No, this is a waste of time. Most likely I need a lawyer to make the insurance payments and if I need a lawyer I can better sue the one who harmed my kid.

Forms, I no longer fill them out. My children can do it themselves and in case of need, they can sign too. About facemasks, this school didn't mention a word and the informative evening for parents is planned here. No, I will not visit it. Two children taking the bus, one even two busses twice a day, two children at school is enough risk I already take. No one will pay me if I or my children get sick, the risk is mine.

"I wonder how many will be ill in two-three weeks time and if the school closes again", the bus-kid remarks.

Personally, I don't think the school closes down soon and if it will be after February 2021. At that time 50% of the school year is over and the children are able to school themselves at home again. Not that I mind if we can stay home during winter. It would be better for me and the car.

School started again. I woke up at 4:30 am and had to kick both children out of bed. Without me, they would be still in bed. Night owls are not at their best early in the morning. I hope they get used to it fast enough because I do not like this stress early in the morning.

Enough stress will come my way by driving up and down because both do not have the same schedule and it will take at least a week or two till we figured out when the buses arrive.

September 2, 2020

#kittywu #coronavirus #school2020

4
$ 0.55
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

All beginnings are hard. Especially these days of beginning of classes.

I still don't know if my son's classes will be face-to-face. I hope not yet. There are many people passing away from one side of my community to the other like never before.

And this is just the beginning.

The community itself does not respect the rules of distancing or the use of hygiene and protection measures.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi

$ 0.00
3 years ago