My first cup of coffee

4 43
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago

I would say it was at the age of 15 but it isn't true. More likely it was two or three years earlier. No idea who offered it but I guess it was the housekeeper. Indeed it was a cup. Back then we used cups not mugs (bekers). That first cup might have been with cream, not sure if it contained sugar since we hardly used sugar in our drinks. As a toddler, it was tea with milk but soon that changed into black tea. Black coffee was what I drank too and I assume I liked the taste. The taste and smell didn't bother me like it does today. It all started during my first pregnancy the smell of it made me vomit. The 'great' thing about pregnancies is your nose is working ten times better than before and my nose already smelled way more than most people theirs.

For a short moment, I started drinking coffee again but it never tasted as good as it did before. My time experiencing coffee as an incredible drink was short.

I can no longer drink coffee made with a coffee machine because I can not stand the smell of it. The strange thing is there are more scents that a pregnant woman cannot stand like meat for example or the way some people, or the laundry smell, medication, hospitals, dogs, and cigarettes but I never got over the coffee smell.

My pregnancies put a hold on me if it comes to drinking coffee. I do not consider it a loss, I wasn't addicted to it and am fine with tea or water. Just on rare occasions, I tell myself I could use a cup of coffee. That coffee is instant and with milk or like my children say it's milk with the suggestion coffee is added to it. Instant coffee doesn't smell as bad as filtered coffee and the taste isn't so bitter.

On those days I tell myself I could use a cup of coffee it's always because I somehow keep believing it might make me feel better and stay alert and awake. The opposite is true and within my family, I am not the only person who falls asleep after a mug of coffee. At the time I still drank strong, black coffee it was the same. I slept like a baby while others were hyperactive.

If it comes to coffee, we do believe a lot just because others told us this is the case. The truth is people aren't the same and coffee does not have that great taste and a good cup is hard to find plus... drinking it won't keep a person awake! Caffeine stimulates the situation (drug) you are experiencing at that very moment.

Healthy or not, true or not, it's a fact people worldwide drink an awful lot of coffee and most of them do not even enjoy it. Old coffee, bitter coffee, cold coffee, and all those leftovers which are flushed away. What happened to us? I remember the old television commercials where a (small) cup of coffee was special and the way to feel at home. Coffee was sold to be special, to give the drinker a special moment with a warm and cozy feeling. How come we no longer really enjoy that first, only, or each cup of coffee a day? My guess, it's because it became a habit to drink it, to buy a coffee on the way at a fast-food restaurant or gas station even if we know it's the next disappointment we swallow away. I wonder how many people can still make a great coffee themselves, how many do enjoy each sip and pay attention to what they drink? No multitasking, just sitting down, eyes closed, and being aware of the cup they hold, the scent, and what they really taste.

I still think it's a bad habit to not appreciate what you drink and eat by just swallowing it down, while you are multitasking and focused on other things. A coffee break is no longer a real break the coffee is gulped away or forgotten. What a waste. Would you still drink coffee if you had to grow the bushes yourself, pick the berries, roast the beans, grind them and make your own coffee? Would you and if would you appreciate your cup of coffee more?

Prompt used: first cup of coffee

#kittywu #freewrite #coffee #thoughts

6
$ 5.92
$ 5.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @heartbeat1515
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago

Comments

Hahaha, I still also feel sleepy even after drinking a cup of coffee compared to others. Today, I refrain myself from drinking a lot because it has a bad effect in my health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pregnancies have a way of making us hate what we love the most

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You’re soo right about this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually I’m not a big fun of coffee but most of my friends cannot live without a day by not taking it

$ 0.00
1 year ago