Money as a gift?

10 37
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Today's my youngest birthday. Officially it would not receive any present because it already had it in July. Why? A phone was needed since from September on it would visit a school in the capital city. This means a lot of traveling, many hours from home and as a parent who needs to pick up the child from a bus stop to drive it home for the last 10 kilometers, it's good to know when it got into the last bus (a journey of at least one hour) or if it is in trouble.

What to give for a birthday?

It is great to unwrap something but with us that something is not for fun only. We do not buy toys any longer, more what is needed or perhaps the biggest wish. I noticed the older my children get the fewer wishes they have (except for one child). For a parent it is great to have children who's hobbies, likes and taste hardly change, children who are happy with basically everything.

To us, money is a good present. It's not about the amount but the fact you have something for yourself which can be spent in the way you like it, at the moment you need something or can be saved. One of my children saves certain coins only. The value is a bit higher but therefore it's rare. It makes it happy to see these coins in the saving box that says "in case of emergency break glass". This is its own money, personal cash.

The great thing about cash is you can touch it, see it and you know it's value, what you can buy for it. That's why I still give pocket money in cash. A child can only learn the value, prices, if it holds the money in its hand and reads the prices in the shop. If it counts, calculates what can possibly be bought. Too many people have financial problems because they spend way more than they can afford. A plastic card makes it so easy especially if you can take a loan or use one or more credit cards.

My youngest partly saved for the new phone. This is only possible if the child receives pocket money or cash on other occasions. This time the extra occasion was leaving school and mowing the huge lawn during the period I was ill. The moment we bought the phone was the moment we knew which one and found the cheapest one (never buy the first thing you see because you are in "need"). Because we took our time there's enough money left, way more than expected. Spending your own money is guaranteed more difficult than spending someone else's.

" It hurts to touch my money, use it", one of my children said. I told it hurts me too if my money is spent especially if it is wasted and I wasted a lot. All those things I bought and got broke, are thrown away... It hurts for sure.

It was early this morning but we gave some presents.

A birthday shouldn't pass by unnoticed. The presents were wrapped in a paper we reuse for years. My children learned not to torn paper and gift into pieces at a very young age.

We gave a birthday card (left it in plastic foil) which we found at home and put a memo in it with the text "Happy eatday to you". Next to it some cookies, candies, and chocolate. A grumpy child woke up at 4:30 a.m. but a happy one left in the car on the way to the bus station. The "sour worms" (candies) it could take with it to share with schoolmates. It's a custom with us to treat schoolmates but my children gave up on it years ago because their schoolmates weren't the kindest children around. They didn't see any point in treating them on cake, candies, and more.

"Will you share it?" I asked.

"I'll take it with me and I'll see."

It is fine with me. It's not my birthday and the only thing that counts for me is it feels happy and special. Especially on longer school days and without our small family being complete.

No Bitvavo wallet for this child yet. The interest isn't there yet although I must say it is supportive if I talk about my investments. I intend to keep them for me. It is my extra saving box. One I don't need to start at the bank although I still need a bank account to lay hands on it or to buy cryptocurrencies. I wish there was a different way. Unfortunately, there are hardly options if it comes to directly paying with Bitcoincash or other cryptocurrencies. Not if it comes to the basic items I need. Who knows that option is available within a few years time, at the time my youngest two know all about it.

#kittywu #parenting #birthday #gift

16
$ 2.72
$ 2.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheDINO
$ 0.01 from @Mizanur-Emon
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Happy birthday to your childdd! I would have loved to receive cash on my birthday too but i do think that with my bf was one worth remembering

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that counts too. My children have no boy-, girl- or another friend. They do not consider someone easily as such. It's good to see they are happy with little things, able to save. I hope it's all together enough positive experience and memory for their future. How was your birthday?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would be saving that money if i were single 😂😂😂 but then dates need money too so my savings will be reduced. My birthday was celebrated nicely. We had the cake i loved and really yummy noodles. The date was spent on cuddling for the entire day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually dates don't need to cost money. A walk outside, watching a film together, eating at home, having fun and sex is for free. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well yeah but then there's my traveling money since he's not at the age bracket that's allowed out yet. And i usually buy the ingredients of that date's food when i visit because I'm kind of shy to touch the ingredients they have at their house since his mom might think bad of me if i use too much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are ages not allowed going outside? I would bring along my own food too. My mother in law wasn't happy as I ate cheese (although I lived there and worked day and night without a salary in their shop and at the graveyard).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah since he hasn't turned 21 yet. Only those 21 and above can go out. Ohh that's sad. She was already your in law yet you still packed food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With us, everyone can go out. There was never a restriction if it comes to ages. Since the one's who hardly get ill are those till the age of 13 and from 14-30 are infected most I think it's wiser to keep them inside.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If only that was accepted here. Tired of having to be the one constantly running errand around the house

$ 0.00
3 years ago