Moderating & notifications

41 99
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago
Topics: read.cash, Writing

Diary of a moderator (November 7, 2020)

At times I wonder if I am the only moderator left, the only one left who reads, comments, and tips if possible.

I joined over four months ago and saw one change after the next. Each one had the goal to fight plagiarism and spam. Each time new rules were announced the platform became a bit better. Unfortunately it only worked for a short time. It's remarkable how easily people forget.

Upvoting isn't rewarded, neither is commenting. The only rewards you can receive is if @TheRandomRewarder finds you or a user tips you!

Read.cash is getting chaotic again. I remember at the time I joined we had topics! The topics were removed and the communities should take this over. Communities should have a topic, posts could be found by topic. It only worked for a very short time, that time users felt it was rewarded. It surprises me no one cares if his/her article will be read, can be found. I wonder why? Why don't you care, don't you try to attract readers from everywhere?

November is my NaNoWriMo month.

The month I like to invest in writing more. It's what I like most and no matter how many times I say I will or do it daily, I don't seem to come by spending my days writing, the real writing. I keep fooling myself on a daily base, tell myself I am satisfied if I can read at least something.

Thanks to @TheRandomRewarder I no longer feel the need to spent many hours a day on @Read.Cash. There's no need to do so. I should say "there was no need to" after the new rules were set. The platform increased if it comes to good, longer articles, and writers, storytellers are finally rewarded. There is time to write now. I have time to write.

Since the communities I started and moderate, changed their rules, there's no longer the need to read every post.

The one and two-minute reads, no matter how good they are, are no longer accepted by most communities. It's not what this platform likes and we, we stick to their rules.

This doesn't mean I neglect each short post. Some one-minute reads are good, many longer articles are hardly worth reading. If it's good it's good and not only as a moderator but also as a reader I reward what I like.

The notifications... 78 are waiting for me. Over 40 are from the same person. The "wow', 'nice', and 'great' are replaced by 4 'new ways to comment'. In short: the spammers are back and this user knows nothing about the rules set. Although the comments were missed by some, because many left and those who stayed or returned mainly focus on publishing, I can't say the platform increases if I read mine.

A comment is appreciated but these, spamming, comments are not!

It only proves the commenter never read what I wrote. It's not flattering but insulting plus the user breaks the rules set by this platform!

This user isn't the only one investing mainly in 'promoting' his name. More users started to respond to a title only. This response can be funny at times but frequently it causes painful situations.

How will I deal with it? In the same way, as I did before. Spam will be marked as such and the user will be blocked. If you, commenter, are too lazy to read me, not even willing to invest in reading a few sentences to know what the article is about, I will not invest my precious time and energy in you. I will not follow or tip you either.

I noticed some of those I tipped blocked me. It's fine with me but keep in mind you cannot be approved to any of the communities I moderate.

I thought I finally arrived at my 2-month-old notifications but the new spammers make it impossible to work through the long list. Answering or visiting those I like to read next to all those texts showing up in my moderating list is a problem. I will try to read and answer as many notifications as possible but it's not my first priority of the last weeks of 2020. Just like many, I have other things to deal with and my interests are diverse.

#readcash #communities #moderating #notifications #spam

34
$ 5.21
$ 5.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ladyanneclare
$ 0.02 from @Mr.Trenzs
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago
Topics: read.cash, Writing

Comments

I really enjoyed reading that, especially as a new user. It’s super helpful to understand some of the history and know what you moderators go through. I appreciate you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same same, i just mark as spam or simply just ignore now. At times they stop and at times i just find the need to report everything but what i really hate is when they simply copy a portion of your text onto the comments, it's just plain disrespectful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is indeed and it's the same with articles copied. I wonder what makes the commenter think you are not noticing it. πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Who knows, maybe they just are after that activity bonus in the end but i still hate those the most, because short but sincere comments can count sometimes but not that kind of atrocity

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no activity bonus and I am sure I am not the only one. This bonus is for newbies only?

I agree a short sincere comment is welcome but if I see one person writing the same comments 20+ times and they don't even fit to the content....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had thought you would receive that. But oh well, it seemed that bonus is only for countries who have servers that don't block out ads

Ahh that's true. I guess we can track their activity by searching. So i guess we should just keep putting those as spam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My server doesn't block adds at least not as far as I know, I wish it was true.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice update this article about to get upvote from me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It must be hard to be a community moderator. Do you guys get something from being a moderator? πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No we don't and it doesn't matter to me. I started with communities about subjects I like to write about and to find a 'home' for my articles at the first place. It doesn't sound logical to me to post recipes, stories, diaries and articles about psychology in the same community. If I search for a recipe that's not the place I would go to.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see. I got it now. I'm just new here so I still don't know some things about the website. And yes, it's good to have a community where we can publish an article, it will make us find articles about a specific topic easily.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's my idea and was the intention of read.cash after the topics disappeared. Most communities are messy these days or accept everything.

Keep in mind you can always start your own community if you can't find what you are looking for. Btw it's not a must to submit to a community.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure, I'll keep that in mind. Yesterday I made two article and submitted it to different communities but it's still not approved until now. It's good to know that it's actually not necessary to submit it to a community.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is exactly what this article is about? so i have downvoted t his comment. If i am doing the wrong thing by reporting this comment and downvoting it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Reporting is right. Each user can do it quickly by reading the notifications and by clicking the words 'spam' at the right underneath the comment. Once down the comment is no longer shown.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We came a little earlier, almost 6 months now and really saw every change. Here's our insight:

β€’ Very early there wasn't but upvotes. It was really hard to get some money writing. Solution needed.

β€’ Point system. It seemed nice, but problems started when for example you could write a post, no one see it and still get 20pt, or worse, when commenting five other posts you got the same points. Meaning you didn't have to create content at all. You can even like and comment yourself with several accounts and get the most. Some did. Spam war started. Solution needed.

β€’ No more points for commenting. Points became mysterious, and only some 'power users' could influence your points. Here started our personal inquiries with RC.

β€’ Elevating the communities to a god like status with reward for the admins (moderation jobs). Soon we starting receiving a lot of points for doing nothing (as we moderate some communities).

β€’ 'Featured' communities are the only to get points announcement. Who was the right to be featured, who doesn't. It was all wrong and no one really like it. We discussed so hard on this than end up blocked by RC and to this day can't see any articles posted from them, including explanatory ones you find on every menu. The featured communities thing was dropped really fast. Unpopular. Site was dying. Solution needed.

β€’ The random rewarder. Is not as random as name says. We get tips on every post, and some people almost never get tipped. Some rules are clear, many other we don't know and we won't know to prevent people have the clue on how to squeeze the bot.

β€’ Finally, the activity bonus. This is the best until now. Payable after ten days is unclear who is elegible or how, but it reports around 5$ a day once you start claiming it. Again spammers started commenting every post to gain activity bonus. Luckily spam filters seems to be in place. Not all the times work, but is an improvement.

We do miss tags (nice work on hashtags by the way), and the role of communities. But yes we still moderate voluntarily as always.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You might have an activity bonus but I have not and I am here daily! I write, comment, I tip others so I wonder what 'activity' means.

The soam and plagiarism filters don't seem to work. Plagiarists are rewarded here. Especially if they steal articles published on read.cash.

I spent 24/24 to moderate with 2 other users so you don't mind me saying I find it an insult to state moderators were paid for nothing.

Those who just liked and commented with a 'nice' for sure were but I read and wrote many long, good comments here too.

The communities were never evaluated to a God status, everyone could start his own it was even supported by read.cash, but asked to help fight spam. Instead some communities preferred to do it their way. They accepted everything, including plagiarism and shitty posts.

The only reason why the featured was stopped was because one single person was not able to check all communities.

We'll see how this platform develops after the hardcore on November 15.

If you are still banned, can not read the articles (are there updates at all?) an e-mail might help to solve this?

Thanks for sharing your opinion. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

everyone could start his own it was even supported by read.cash

Everyone could, but it won't be featured (a lot of rules started to show), and non featured = no points. Also you received double points for posting in your own community (auto approved).

You might have an activity bonus but I have not and I am here daily

It will get to you, if we are banned and we got it, you will soon.

The only reason why the featured was stopped was because one single person was not able to check all communities.

Probably, but also because many started to protest against that kind of centralization.

Don't know about any updates. Don't think an email solve it.

Also don't expect moderator payments (but we noticed the bonus increases slightly when you moderate also)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do not care about moderating payment. Just like some other writers I started a few communities about topics of my interest. Topics I write about and for me, it's a way to find my articles back in a logical way.

Others are free to join but only if they stick to the rules and add quality. I don't think this is too much asked.

I do not understand what you mean by 'It will get to you, if we are banned and we got it, you will soon.'

I will wait till after the hardfork. I expect a dead platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do not understand what you mean...

Referring to the bonus. If we were able to get it (even banned) you will too. Just keep doing as usual.

I will wait till after the hardfork. I expect a dead platform.

BABC won't go the way you're thinking. More likely to be death before born. ABC recently declared "will be supporting both". Why would they do that if 'BABC will be the one true BCH'? They don't have enough support and they know it. Their coin will be valued probably around 15-25$ that's less than 10% of BCH current value. So is smart to stick with what we got (that's what RC is doing and also bitcoin.com, the slp foundation and quite some others)

If you think BCHN is unsupported, you should check again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really hard now though, for me I have left moderating on the community where I was a co-moderator, infact no one moderate there anymore. I only focus on my personal Community though I hardly recieve submission in there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you like any submission you can promote your community underneath your articles and with a short post once in a while.

I started them for me in the first place, all topics of my interest. If someone likes to submit it's fine but I am not going to beg for it plus I want to read something good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and informative article for us. Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I noticed lately that there are many newbies here..and mostly are spamming comments like nice article, good article, etc.. And as what young said, there is always cons and pros in every system implemented here..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The same comments we always had. But that's not the issue here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The random rewarder could not find my account, till now i have never got a reward from the random rewarder

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How active are you? How long are you a member? Do you write longer articles, submit to certain communities?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry to hear that. For us had been working quite steady.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The random rewarder is really difficult to understand, it seems as if it works by luck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps it does or it visits the active accounts by turn depending on how much is in the fund?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Yesterday was quite the experience. I came online to see 21 notifications and I thought 'Oh yeah, the Rewarder bot has blessed my account today'. But then, it was a user, Matt, who had gone through my articles, one after the other, commenting 'wow', 'brilliant', 'great'.

I blocked him because he'd gotten my hopes up πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The same one visited me over 40 times and after I struggled myself through that list I met the next one. 😐

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't had to deal with this on my one or two articles yet. But i have bbeen down voting any isee to make sure the bot sees them. These are the kind of people we have to put up with as the bot fine tunes itself to catch more and more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed the downvoting is important if it comes to bad content and so is reporting spam and plagiarism. The bot still rewards plagiarism. I saw the strangest copy-paste even included the codes the original article was edited with, lettertypes, etc.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bot has good effects and bad effects, every implementation is not perfect because some users will always find ways to cheat, just like copy-pasting articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This has nothing to do with the hot or earlier changes but with the acts of the users. At first, after each change, they are shocked and one or two weeks later they behave like they always did and ignore the rules.

For sure nearly every new users is invited by someone which means that person told them how to act.

$ 0.00
3 years ago