Low fat fryer cake

7 26

I agree it sounds weird... Baking cake in a fryer. A low-fat fryer. Once this was a hot item but they are rarely sold with us these days. Mine is old and I never really managed to cook in it like the manual states it's possible and some people say they do/did.

I gave frying a try. French fries for example. You had to spray oil on the potatoes but it does not taste. I threw the glass spray bottle which came along with the fryer away because it did not work. I doubt the low fat fryer ever turned out to be practical. As I understood from a friend it was the Weight Watchers who introduced it once. At that time it looks different. Mine is a glass bowl with a lot on it and some extra tools. It's electric and the food is fried with the help of a halogen lamp and a ventilator.

One of my children made a small cake to test it out. Ingredients: 150 grams of sugar, 175 grams of flour, baking powder, 125 ml oil, 2 eggs. The cake smelled and tasted like egg. The crust was too thick and the bottom of the cake was white. The temperature used was 160 °C. That was way too much. The manual said 10°C less than usual. We usually bake at 180°C (40 minutes).

It would be helpful if we could use this fryer instead because the oven I use is not okay. I smell gas and am sure it leaks. It irritates my eyes plus the oven has no thermostat. This means I need to check it every 10 minutes with a flashlight and a separate oven thermometer.

Ingredients:

250 grams of sugar

125 ml sunflower oil (or 250 grams of real butter)

2 eggs

250 grams of flour

baking powder

2 bananas cut in slices

The fryer should be preheated for 3 minutes at 220°C.

The main problem with this type of fryers is there is no underneath. There's only one finger space underneath the cake. The warm air needs to circulate for a good result.

After 20-30 minutes the top of the cake already looked ready. I had doubts about the rest. I lowered the temp from 150 to 140°C but if you ask me that's still too high.

The cake tasted good but the crust was too thick at the top. Next time I try 120°C and hope the result will be more satisfying.

The smartphone photography contest runs till August 28, 2020, at midnight London time.

You can read more about it here and in the community: Contests/Challenges https://read.cash/c/contests-challenges-c22c

#kittywu #lowfatfryer #cake

4
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

The cake doesn't look bad. That fryer seems useful. You must have your indicators to read and be one hundred percent successful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I made the chocolate cake today and the result wasn't much better although the ingredients we're a bit different and the baking time even shorter. 🤔 I still think I will use it more frequently but doubt I can make apple pie with it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe using this more frequent device you will get the secret to improve the cakes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will figure it out. Perhaps it can not look like a cake I am used to.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks like it's a delicious sponge, want to taste it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder what the taste is. I love cakes and other baked foods but I don't know how to bake plus we don't have an oven or a fryer like yours. But if we want to make a cake, we use a steamer as an alternative or the 'no bake' cakes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is with banana so this one tasted like banana bread. A bit sweet. Next time I try chocolate. Just bought cocoa.

$ 0.00
3 years ago