Life of a moderator

5 23

June 12, 2020

When I wake up she is already 6 hours at work. Not only at work but moderates too. Things she noticed she writes to me. As soon as I have time I read and answer her messages and I start my share of moderating.

It wasn't easy for the past two days.
Read.cash is under construction and from one moment to the next things change. For two days we deal with extra work. More checking and for sure some posts are added which are plagiarism.
We start to recognize writing styles and scammers.
We notice people publishing every 5 minutes a post and we see how many different communities they add to each post, communities which make no sense at all.

We notice how not one single community out of 26 did comment and it makes me wonder why?
Too busy with accepting to read first? It beats me why those communities do accept everything or actually it doesn't surprise me. They want to be on the front (first) page and this is only possible if they add everything and keep adding 24/7.
It's disappointing to see how within a few days these communities already created chaos. The same chaos they should avoid.

I am sure the scammers, plagiarists are added and no one cares.
Well, for your information I do, we care.
We check, check, double-check, contact each other what to do, on who to keep an eye on.
We leave you a comment, if we reject we tell you why and at times we give you a chance. The chance to improve yourself. To edit your post, add some extra text, to make it look better.
By now we did not block anyone but that moment might come.
Ten times the same content, content which we do not label as quality and reject, blocks the rest. The articles of those who do give their best, users you see grow.

At noon she leaves because her day is over and I continue. Only a few hours later I get company of the next moderator which we keep updated too while we moderate. When I leave she goes on till the next moderator wakes up.


Communities
Try to read those posts you add for a change and if you answer give an answer that makes sense. I have read the weirdest comments, comments which have totally nothing to do with what is written.

3
$ 0.00

Comments

Its super cool to know how active the moderators are on here! =) thank you for all the hard work you do =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reading and commenting. If that many are still active I don't know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you mean your moderation is manned 24 hours around? Mine is not, and it hardly need to be. But I suppose you receive much more material all the time; your topics are more predisposed for that than mine. I get a lot, but very little to approve. In fact, I reject most on the basis of being out-of-topic already before I even check about plagiarism. I can get an article about business strategy to my community about Japanese art and culture, so it seems people send whatever to whatever. Such material is quickly rejected, I don't even read it properly. It is only if it passes that test, the real work begin. But not many texts reach that far.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, we are there 24 hours a day and already a few days behind. Frequently we see the same post 5 times. They want to add it to every community they can think of. Not each one of them is overflowed. Mainly Share Some Thoughts and Freewriting. Frequently it does not belong to those groups at all.

If we reject we say why. If we know a better group we give that name too. Everything that is plagiarism we reject and if we do not trust someone the same story. At times we give tips on how to edit but most do not care. I doubt they read the comments you give.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, they just want to publish and get points. That's the only thing in the mind of 80% of the people here - or more. They are not interested in writing, their are interested in getting easy money.

$ 0.00
3 years ago