It wasn't me

8 43
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago

I know, I know the week isn't over yet but I do need some free days off. Not that that will happen since there are too many things to do, to arrange for the winter coming up in between all those things I have to do.

My youngest has passed the theory test for driving. Now we have to wait for a driving teacher. Apparently, the driving schools are busy. I hadn't expected that, given that petrol and also driving will soon be unaffordable.

The youngest has also found a job, but they often cancel or the hours are suddenly much shorter because the sky is cloudy or there is a chance of rain. Far too many people (40) have been taken on and there is definitely no work for them. It feels as if the owner wants to play it safe in case people leave. There are a lot of requirements, including a health examination and statement from the family doctor (just done for driving lessons) and also a lung examination (tuberculosis and??). It is unclear whether this paper can be used, but it all costs time and money. Working for two days to get another health certificate is crazy. Working this way costs more than it yields. Another disadvantage is that my child is always scheduled at the end of the day when she works. This means that cycling is not possible and we have to take the car to bring her to school and pick her up later. This was not the intention.

I don't really get to do the garden, but that's not such a bad thing.

It hardly rains and for the first time in years I hardly have to mow. I am happy with it. All my plants are still together under a tree. Not everything survives. I have tomatoes but they are still green and yesterday some looked very limp and soft.

The pepper plants from the farmer next door are wilted. He doesn't give them any, so we'll have to wait and see what the weather does. Maybe the plants are strong enough to survive for weeks without water? I did my best and I can honestly say that it wasn't me, it wasn't my fault that they died. I try not to think too much about why it all went wrong but I do know that many of the tips I read about care do not work for me.

The cucumber plants are all dying, the fruit trees are struggling to cope. The white currants are quite dry, the leaves are limp. As for the melon plants, they are still alive but that is all. Still no small fruits to be seen. Only the blackberry bush from last year is a bit bigger now and has blackberries. Not many, but last year there were only three flowers and these never produced any blackberries. The only advantage is that none of us really feel like eating. We drink a lot of water, sometimes tea made with mint or another herbal tea. I bake bread and sometimes make yoghurt. Keeping the yoghurt fresh is a problem because I don't have a fridge. It is easier in autumn, winter and spring when it is not so hot in the house.

Meanwhile, I have arranged firewood for the coming winter.

I didn't know how much I should order but checked on the internet how many kilos one needs on average. I can't make up my mind, but it will be delivered tomorrow and I will know. I hope it will be enough and secretly hope that there will be some left over for the winter of 2023/2024. In the next few days, I will clean the woodshed and stack the wood. Someone has to do all the work even though my back is screaming with pain and it doesn't feel like a summer holiday.

#kittywu #life#today #diary #july

6
$ 5.46
$ 4.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @AnonSunamun
$ 0.02 from @MoonTrader
+ 1
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago

Comments

Woaah your too busy in that moment, being busy can help also our mind not to think bad thoughts and it's serve as our exercise as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true plus you sleep well ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see you have a lot of things to do, it's amazing how much you have to prepare, and then you will have time to rest. I hope the firewood is enough for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a never-ending circle of work. I doubt I have time to continue renovating the house (started last Summer) but who knows...

The fire is warm but it makes sleepy and makes it harder to leave the room since the rest of the house remains cold and gets colder every day a bit more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm fascinated with all your activities, it keeps you busy all day. We don't have winter, only summer and rainy days, so I'm kinda loving the thought of a fireplace as we don't have. It's like living in a tale-like story told by novels. While we do use firewood and charcoals but that's for cooking and grills at our dirty kitchen built outside.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Always busy preparing, house, food, firewood, clothes... I stick to how I was raised and still do it this way. Only exception is cleaning after Winter and Summer.

I have a small building (outside kitchen) but if the weather is fine I cook outside or don't cook at all. During Winters it's too cold.

If it comes to the fireplace it is a comfy warmth, cosy but we can't keep it burning 24/7. It costs too much plus you need to wake up every 2-3 hours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is sooo much difference between your world and my world that it is mindboggling. To me its almost unimaginable what it is like to live in your world. Living in a place without refrigurator, dependent firewood to make it through winter... It just doesn't exist anymore in my world. In fact the whole concept of preparing for a season, besides stocking up on suntan oil before summer and maybe switching out the closet wardrobe for the winter wardrobe we keep in the attic during the summer we don't need to prepare for the winter very much. When it's cold we twist a dial on the wall with which we can select the temperature we want (i usually keep it at 21 degrees celcius) and the heating system takes care of it within an hour.

On one side i have great respect for people living like that and still hardly complain, treating it as the most normal thing in the world. On the other hand I feel anger and embarressed that so many people still regard living like you do to be normal. Not being able to do much about such things personally i mostly opt to ignore the latter and focus on the first.

If that's a copout, then i am sorry and i do apologize.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No need to apologize. We live, are healthy, and have privacy and freedom others might not have. Indeed we have to deal with mother Nature. If it rains too long we can't leave, it's hard to shop without a car and the nearest bus stop is 8 kilometers away. Without electricity, we have no water but can still heat (a part of) the house (firewood just arrived) and as long there are gas bottles we can use the stove to cook (the wok is electric which is a plus).

I could never stand the cold (bad memories of my grandparent's homes and the cold) but it as it is and if there's a longer blackout we'll survive since we are partly used to this way of living and prepared. At times I just feel sorry for the children. The older they get the more the cold affects them. I hope the winter won't be too cold.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your lifestyle. 🍀♥

$ 0.00
1 year ago