Hunger for a touch

19 38
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

"Skin hunger" is one of those newly invented words.

As a result of "social distancing" some people hunger to be touched. An acquaintance is one of them. She was surprised as the electrician shook our hands. Yes, we all shook his hand and none of us did wear gloves, refused, or disinfected hands right after we did so. It depends on the culture if a handshake is normal and will be missed. To us, a deal is a deal and a firm handshake is part of it.

It did this lady a lot of good and she kept repeating how great it is people dare to shake hands, not avoiding you as if you are a leper.

How come this handshake of a stranger meant the world to her and not that much to us? What is the difference between people who hunger to be touched, those who are not fond of it, or like being touched by everyone or those who don't care?

You might have heard about tests done with Russian babies and decades later Romanian babies/toddlers. Both tests should proof children not only developed faster if they receive, next to food and a clean diaper, cuddles but also grow taller, are happier and healthier.

It's clear. Being touched does some souls good and helps to reduce stress. Stress is what is fought if we touch, cuddle, give a handshake and we know too much stress won't do our health good.

What is needed for the daily dose of touch?

A handshake can do the trick just like sitting next to someone. A hug isn't per se needed and if so a pet or even a stuffed animal does the trick. Both, pet and stuffed animal, can reduce stress and not only with children. Tests are done with adults doing games. Some held a teddy bear. Those with a bear experienced less stress. With this knowledge, skin hunger can be fought and those who suffer from it can easily help themselves.

Are you one of those people who doesn't hunger for a touch? Don't worry there's nothing wrong with you. Those who hunger most of being touched turn out to be the people with lower self-esteem. Feeling someone makes them feel safer. If this comes to my acquaintance it's 100% true.

#kittywu #psychology #skinhunger #stress

17
$ 0.78
$ 0.50 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @marblely
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

I crave touches only from certain people. Just those i want to rely om at times but otherwise, i can do fine without. I enjoyed this one too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Experts say that is what happens with people who grew up in a safe home. I need to think about that one. I doubt if it's true. If so (with me and my kids) it has more to do with being introvert and plenty of self-esteem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

O wonder about that? Maybe it really just depend on a person's level of dependency? Plus touches from certain people feel nice... some just need the comfort they're usually deprived of

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will depend on the level of dependency but if you ask me extriverts are way more needy than introverts too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's actually truth to that 😂 they're more fueled by human interaction than the introverts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will start shaking everyone now 😂😂😂 Nice Article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It you can tap backs, rub legs or just be a good kid and take your teddy and drag it around with you. It's cheaper than a robot cat, doctor or shrink. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is probably why pets are good for health. It has been scientifically established that having a pet can, for instance, lower the blood pressure. So it is not "only" about feeling well, there is something also for those who require measurable hard facts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you ask me a lower blood pressure makes one feeling well too. Although I doubt it helps with those who have a really high blood pressure not caused by stress. A pity for those with allergies. Watching an aquarium can be helpful too.

There's an opposite of hugging pets. Humans project their illnesses and stress on animals which is a reason why so many animals people take good care off are getting seriously ill. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right, but I did not write that it lowers the blood pressure, but that it CAN lower the blood pressure. Of course it doesn't so in all cases.

Incidentally, being among trees and other plants also reduces stress.

True also what you say last, about people projecting their illnesses and stress on animals.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Days ago when I saw myself with flu symptoms, we used masks at home and no approach. My son held the cat and hugged him saying "since I have no contact with mom, it covers my love deficiencies." and hugged him. When our isolation at home ended, we had a long, big hug.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The cat must be happy he received some extra hugs. I hope he isn't dumped now you feel better. I doubt my children would do that. They learned from a very young age my infected skin, nerves make it hard to cuddle although we did. We are close in different ways and share and laugh a lot. 💕👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe that each family develops its own way of being affective according to its needs, resources or limitations. We are used to hugs. And our cat is always with us. He lives here during the day and at night after his dinner he goes to the streets. The cat seems to like hugs only when he himself encourages them. He just wants to be around the rest without being disturbed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I didn't know some people can be like that. My guess is that they hate this corona period

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Some people are very touchy, in need to be touched. I assume if you a real one or need many others to touch you, you will have a very hard time now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I automatically touch people whom I am close to by their arm when I speak to them. I did read that a touch gives comfort. Maybe it is a form of comfort. But with strangers, a handshake is sufficient.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do not touch many people. I never see the need to do so. A handshake I prefer above those 3 kisses to greet someone. This fake not meant gesture means nothing to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago