Gathering the pieces

2 25

Shave

"I am afraid that means nothing at all to me. Are you sure you are asking the right person?"

The doctor looked from one to the other. Two visitors who asked for him and he had never met in his entire life. A well-dressed lady middle-aged and a bald man who he should have met at least three times. Both were unfamiliar to him.
"Is this your signature?"
He had a second look at the copy. It was his although somehow it looked different. He studied the paper closer. The medical diagnose, the treatment, it was all filled out exactly the way he would do it or suggest on the other hand.. It was right years ago, a long time to remember what exactly had happened. The woman was right. There was no scar. This man was healthy. As healthy as one could be.
"You don't remember your staying here?"
The man shook his head.
"Neither I remember I ever met you or treated you. I know it's a long time ago but I would have remembered it. Brain surgery in a case as described here is rare. Since the computer of this hospital has no file at all I need some time to investigate this. If you ask me your name is printed at the file of someone else and the date... I'll need to check it out where I was that certain day."
"It's a long time ago how will you figure that out if you can't remember me?"
The doctor smiled as he answered "My diaries will tell me all about it."


"What happens when we die?"
It was the first time she spoke and asked wondered about it and the only one who could hear her was the dog. An old filthy dog that had no intention to leave her. For some reason he was attached to her. Once in a while he licked her hand and the rare moments he moved were triggered by someone entering the room. She couldn't remember how many days ago it had been she woke up in this room. The only thing that had changed was she was no longer strapped to the bed. They had asked her questions, all kinds of questions but most of them she wasn't anle to answer. She didn't know her name, where she came from or who left her outside the gate covered with soil. It had kept her warm, saved her life and so had the dog. The dog had found her. They said they would help her but she wasn't sure. Not sure if she needed help, how they could help. She had asked for something to eat, the peanut butter bar but instead they had brought her something else. Custard and soup. Easy to digest food. Sweet and salty but it didn't taste like what she was used to. The dog liked it though.

#kittywu #freewrite #story

12
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

I think they were looking for scars on the head.

They are good stories! I like dogs but I don't like them licking me and leaving their saliva on my body.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice post friend.back my post & subcribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago