From butter cake to sacrificing to getting rich

1 44

A freewrite... Most of the posts I see, those who submit to the community, are not the idea behind a freewrite at not. Not what the community is looking for. Indeed if it's not accepted it's not a freewrite, you did not set a timer.
____________________________


My timer today is the egg timer and with it the butter cake in the oven. I am a lucky mom. My child loves to bake and as long as we have the ingredients it's fine with me. The intention was "coffee cake". A cake that didn't pop up in my mind but my child wondered if it exists. We both searched the internet and the answer is 'yes' although a part of the recipes are not what I would call a coffee cake but 'Mokka pie' (cake in layers filled with a coffee cream as a child I hated that pie) and at times even bought cakes were used to change the taste.
We'll make a coffee cake and try out something ourselves but not today. There's a lemon left which I bought before Eastern and lemons are expensive. I do not like to throw good food away. I threw away some dough though. There was mould in it and to be honest, I have had it with all the food with mould. I am not sure if I said it before but during the past years, I ate more spoiled food than in my entire life. Not that I ever threw food away but what is sold these days by shops is bad quality. It's bad and it's sold for the same price. Might be a good strategy but I had it with it. I do not want to eat spoiled food, mould since it affects my health and for the same money, I can buy something good. So I need at least an extra pair of good eyes before I decide to buy fruit, vegetables, bread and pie at a shop.
The bakery over here has the habit to sell old pie and cookies too but at least they tell you it's old if you ask about it. I am not used to bakeries selling old products. The ones I know sell daily baked fresh products and if there's something wrong with it they give you your money back or a new product. This is what customer service is about. You please your customer, keep him satisfied so they send their friends over to you. Being customer friendly means advertising yourself and if you treat your customer well he won't walk out of you if there's no salt in the bread or the pie is spoiled because you find a solution together.

Supermarkets don't care about their customers. The only thing they care about is their wallet (Banks count) and being the only one. They try to attract customers with sales, budget brands and stamps, or if you buy three you get one for free but in reality, you are always fooled. Once they are the only shop left they can ask whatever they like. As a customer, you are used to certain articles. Perhaps the chocolate brand from abroad or Yakult or a certain brand smartphone... You pay whatever they ask to fit in, to belong to have the feeling you belong to the Western world, those wealthy people living over there since they are all rich, at least that's what we believe.

No one likes to be a loser and everyone believes the grass elsewhere is greener.
We believe all good national products are exported and the 'trash' is consumed by us. It might be right but it's also your own choice. Own products are more expensive than import which is strange if you think about it. How can it be our milk and butter is cheaper abroad than in our own country? So I buy the German butter instead of our products because it's not smart to "rob my wallet".

Groceries are expensive these days and the prices increase every week (perhaps daily but I do not visit shops daily so I cannot tell). We still manage but can no longer stick to the amount I set. Not even if we eat meat once a week, without the soda, lemonade, alcohol, tobacco, gifts, cookies, candy, desserts, going out, hairdressers, buying clothes, shoes, needing bus tickets, gasoline and so on.

This all brings me to an "article" I read about what people who can manage money very well would never do. It wasn't news for me and for sure not written for the poor (not buying or leasing a brand new car, not using a credit card, not buying what you cannot afford, no A-brands and quality over quantity). I hoped to read something special, that golden tip but it wasn't there. It felt like the headline in a news article where a lady with debts gave the "golden" tip to not buy washing powder unless it was on discount. As if there aren't cheaper ways to wash the laundry. There was a line in the first article that did catch my eye. A line that mentioned a young man who was able to have $100,000 at the age of 25 years old by investing and sacrificing a lot. This could never be me (at that age I had two children) but I could have done better, way better. I did save, my children have savings and although I never went out I wasted a lot of money during my life. Babysitters, daycare, phone, cars, toys, schools, pets, photos, furniture, investments, insurances, moving, travelling and most of all so-called friends and men.


#kittywu #freewrite

7
$ 4.76
$ 4.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @heartbeat1515

Comments

Thank you for sharing this article 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago