Deal

6 34

Stripes

The monster house wasn't as abandoned as the neighborhood thought. Several people showed interest in it and waited for an opportunity to enter. Some out of curiosity thanks to the broadcasted news, others to find what they were looking for.
The new case was news, six bodies found and the world speculated about the man in the wall. Three people had recognized the man. One was cursing at the headquarter, the other one suddenly didn't feel to safe anymore at the place he hid and number three was Magda. She had disappeared in the same way as she had showed up only a few weeks ago.

The chief inspector tried to call her but the beep of her voicemail was all he got. He hated to leave a message and hung up. Visiting her after their last meeting at the police station didn't sound like a smart idea. Their relationship -if there had been one at all- died. Her daughter living in the forest was all that was left from her. The offer of his new friend sounded attractive. The past few weeks had been tough.

"Meet me at the office," he texted to Ben.

Two more officers were just send out to guard Mrs. Gordon's house as Hella knocked at the door.

"Your work?" He pointed at the screen on the wall.

"Unfortunately not. For sure I would have made an article out of it myself instead of sending it to a news channel."

"Hmmm. Sit down."

She sat and waited. Her anger with him wasn't over and her name was important to her. It wasn't clear why he asked for her but she felt his agitation like a tentacle around her neck.
Both observed each other in silence till he finally spoke.
It was an offer he had to make or you could call it a request. While she listened and swallowed her anger her interest grew. This could be a great story, the story she needed to get out of here. Leave the sick place and the newspaper agency who never had appreciated her, even dared to threaten her.

"Deal," she said and shook hands with the man she had waited for and had hated the entire day. Ben could drop dead, she didn't need him any longer.

"Don't think I am a fool Hella... I know how you threatened Ben, tried to manipulate him. You can have your interview with the monster now before your luck changes. You never know when something comes in between. Count with it the monster is watched and not only by us and so are you."

She nodded and left the room. She knew exactly what to ask the old gossiper. She knew the neighborhood, , had a list of disappeared neighbors and that ex of hers wouldn't take long to finish her if Fidelo didn't catch him first. She followed the police officer to the basement. The place where they kept the elderly lady. "How ironic," she thought, "is she aware she's exactly at the same place where she left those seven?"

The door swung open and she smiled at the tiny lady who sat on her bed.

"Good evening dear, do you remember me? I have an offer for you, you can'tdeny. If you agree you will be home before you know. Let's say within one or two days at most. How does that sound? May I sit down?"

What no officer or lawyer managed Hella did. The elderly lady talked to her, kept talking and even answered her questions. She no longer cared about her promise or the threats neither her house.

"It isn't mine you know my husband, my ex owns it. Let's say I am taking care of it, I'm the caretaker that's all. My son, my real son... he..., he's gone... It's such a long time ago. l don't want it the house I mean, neither I wanted those children. He brought them to us. The boys... they stayed but the girls. I would have loved to have a daughter you know."

She hesitated, next seemed to be in thoughts. Hella waited. There was no reason to rush.

"Can you help me with a new home and can I have a cup of tea please? I never missed tea time in my entire life. Since I am here it's the first time, the first time..."

"Of course dear, you like some biscuits?"

The prompt for this one is tentacle and if I am right this is part 60. I doubt I can finish the story before NaNoWriMo starts. If you like to write a novel (or at least the draft) in 30 days (50,000 words) subscribe and give it a try. Tips and support are given.

#kittywu #story #crime #freewrite

13
$ 1.72
$ 1.72 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Well written I love this article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's really a good story.. Keep posting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice story. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good article dear keep sharing article like this. And also don't forget to back me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nc

$ 0.00
3 years ago