Cookies

2 35

In this case almond cookies. I love them but admit as a child I did not. I can't recall I ever ate the cookies but there was a pudding they were added to it. Today I would say what a waste. The dough is made of almonds, egg white, sugar and almond extract. Almonds (almond flour) is expensive and so is the extract. It smells and tastes strong but I like it. I asked a bottle for my birthday and lucky me received it.

Unless you have an almond tree and can grind the almonds it's an expensive treat. Indeed it's cheaper to buy the cookies instead of preparing them yourself. The ingredients are expensive and so is the use of an oven. I doubt if baking and cooking at home will continue in the western world. I still bake bread, rolls, cake and cookies for the children but keep a close eye on the oven (time) and note when I use it and for what. The bottles with camping gas I use contain less gas and cost twice as much.

I wonder if almond cookies can be made with common flour or semolina. I'm going to try it next time. I find it hard to believe the factory bakeries use almond only because if so their cookies would be gluten free and for sure they would mention that.

If you like to try to bake the almond cookies yourself here are the ingredients:

- 150 grams of almond flour (or grind the almonds)

- 150 grams of sugar (powder, or grind sugar yourself)

- 2 egg white (add more if it's too thick and you cannot use a pastry bag)

- a bit salt (recommended)

- 1 teaspoon (5 ml) almond extract

Vegetarian or no eggs available? Instead of egg white you can use aquafaba and some baking powder. Baking time up till 25 minutes, temp oven 175°C.

16672229776281973618946515291276.jpg

Mix it well and use a pastry bag to make the cookies or if not available use two teaspoons.

Bake in the oven 190°C for about 15 minutes.

#kittywu #kitchen #lifestyle #homemade #october

3
$ 1.03
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

I love chocolate cookies But this keeps me wondering how almond cookies will taste like

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would have loved to see the finish product of the cookie cos I'm sure they tasted nice

$ 0.00
1 year ago