Birthday pie - chocolate

12 61

It was time to bake a pie or cake if you like to call it this way. I already did a few weeks ago but each birthday child deserves one. I decided to use the same kind of recipe with a small change. Instead of flour, I would use partly flour and partly cocoa.

Again I used a recipe Rudolph (24kitchen) a great Dutch baker published on his site. I noticed instead of 6 eggs he used 5 this time. I would recommend 6 eggs plus this time no butter is added.

Cocoa isn't the same as flour at least not the one I used. It makes the dough thicker.

The ingredients used:

  • 5 egg yolk

  • 50 grams of

Stir egg yolk and sugar au bain Marie (your bowl in a bowl with hot water) for 5 minutes or longer till its colour changed (lighter). You can see the difference.

  • 5 egg white

  • 50 grams of sugar

Stir egg white and sugar in a different bowl. It takes some time. If you can keep the bowl upside down without it falling out the egg white is good.

They say you need to use a clean bowl and so on. Rests of fat will stop you from getting egg white look this way. Well, with me something went wrong after I cracked the 5th egg. There was egg yolk in it. I spooned it out and as you can see no disaster happened.

  • 125 grams of flour

  • 25 grams of cocoa

Instead of scales, I used this. No need to panic. It's not about a gram more or less. I even added more cocoa and fewer flour.

Add 1/4 of your egg white to the egg yolk and carefully spoon it through the egg yolk and sugar. Next, you add more egg white. Bit by bit and carefully. If you stir too fast or long it will lose the extra volume. Keep in mind baking powder isn't needed for this recipe that's what you use the egg white for.

Next, you add the flour and cocoa. Use a sieve and do it bit by bit. An extra hand is helpful but if not available you do it yourself.

My dough bowl isn't great. I noticed flour remains at the bottom!

I used a round baking mould and the idea is to horizontally slice the pie. It's easier to bake two pies (layers) and place them on each other.

Oven temp: 180Β°C

Time: 35 minutes (according to Rudolph 25)

Leave the pie in the oven for at least 10 minutes with the door a bit open. Seems they collapse if they get too much cold at once. To be honest I couldn't tell the difference. I baked two. The first I left in the switched-off oven for at least 2 hours or longer. Once out of the oven it looked fine.

The second time I put a spoon at the side of the door and left the cake inside. Once out of the oven it looked great but a few hours later it was half as high.

No problem what it looks like a good cook or baker can make something great out of everything. It's about the taste right.

Instead of whipped cream, I decided to change it into a Sacher cake. Chocolate layers filled with marmalade and covered with chocolate.

After you covered the first layer with marmalade you place the next on it. I had three layers.

I was in quite a hurry because I needed to pick up my children from school. While working on this pie I melted the chocolate au bain, Marie.

In the photo, you can see how I broke the chocolate into pieces. I used this can and placed it into a pan with a bit of water on the stove on a low fire. As soon as the chocolate is melted you pour it on your cake.

I used my pancake knife to spread it all over and at the sides of the cake. No pancake knife! You can use an ordinary knife too or any tool that works for you.

This was a one hand job. My child called me so with one hand I held my phone and with the other hand, I covered the cake. The melted chocolate will not remain melted which means you have to be fast.

I intended to decorate this birthday cake with pieces of chocolate but decided not to. There are candles and some other decorations I liked to use. The decoration that should lighten the cake last for two seconds not even long enough to lit all three.

I used chocolate cream on top and of course, this pie was too much for us. The chocolate all together fills the tummy for sure. A part of I saved for later/the next days.

To be honest I found this dough dryer than the one of the whipped cream cake. A day letter tastes better although my children say it's not per se better.

Note: if you bake this pie you can save it for 2-3 days out of the fridge. In the fridge for a week and if you use your freezer you can save it for a long time.

I suggest baking layers instead of horizontally cut the cake. A baking time of 11 minutes should be enough.

#kittywu #recipe #diy #birthdaycake #chocolate #life #photography

11
$ 2.81
$ 2.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1

Comments

I would love to try one of the cakes you'd bake. I never saw someome yet using some cocoa powder instead of full flour only, but I am sure it contributed to better taste.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend, we had not met before. Excellent how that cake turned out, chocolate is undoubtedly the best. At home, what we do most is flan. Making this cake requires precision that only some achieve. Nice to meet you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try these steps at home,I haven't bake before because I don't see it as my way but I will try this with the you make it seems easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No way!! This is really a piece of cake. But when i jumped into that, i always messed up everything. Even though i can't even fry an egg properly. You've done such fabolous cake. I wish i would join with you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waoooo good trial I aslo bake cake 2 times...I love cake....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My next trial soon is to learn how to bake cake as I want to Know how to do it especially days if I am craving and I need something to eat. Thanks for sharing the steps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just had one not quite long ago. I didn't know it took so much to produce one,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The baking time doesn't long, the preparing takes longer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a recipe my dear friend. I've learnt a little bit of it now though i'm just not too good in the kitchen way as i could hardly cook even a noodle πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chocolate cakes are very delicious. I just don’t know when to stop whenever I start eating one. The fact that It comes from a Birthday party gives me additional psychological satisfaction 😁 haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm...chocolate cakes are my all time favorites. I almost ate through my screen cos it looked so delicious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This looks yummy and I guess we don't prepare stuffs like this here in Nigeria

$ 0.00
2 years ago