Behind the window

15 75
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Freewrite, People, Reality, 2021, ...

Today it is not that cold, the windows in my Today it is not that cold, the windows in my bedroom are not frozen. I feel cold though. The electric blanket nor hot water bag help me through the cold night. Going to bed is no fun. Cotton wool in my ears to prevent the earache, a hat that I lose during the night, a fleece blanket over my pillow with the sides folded around my head. Nothing worse than cold on the head, brains that literally creak.

I am forced to lie still, as still as possible on my back. A painful back that made me sleep on my left side for over 20 years and shovel a few steps a day. Of course, I try to turn around, shift my head a few inches. It's all good for losing the blanket, hat and cotton wool.

My eyes ... since weeks I suffer from itchy eyeballs, red veins, swollen and inflamed eyelids ... the eyelashes at one eyelid have disappeared but the inflammation remains. I try to keep them closed, cover them in bed although the pressure of the cotton cloth hurts. The blanket over my head feels a bit warmer but my body remains cold.
My feet, ankles covered by warm socks with a Christmas print, are still not warm after hours in bed.
Outbursts. Chills followed by heat, hot flashes that make me jump and wait in the freezing cold for them to pass.
When will it stop? It does not stop, but it's a recurring thing about four times an hour. Heat attacks followed by shivering from the cold. I don't like to be smelly, cold sweat... it's literally frozen. You don't get much warmer in a sweaty soaked "pyjama".

The sunglasses I wear in a dark house cause inflammation of the skin, eczema where it touches my face. A result that will keep me busy for the next six weeks and when I wake up I am exhausted, exhausted and glad that I no longer have to go to school. Sorry, but I can't anymore.

While still in bed I touch my bone-dry skin. "I need to use body lotion again", I think and "how come my stomach feels so cold I am underneath a blanket. Isn't a cold belly a sign of hypothermia with babies?"

Dehydrated. No matter how many times I drink, I am dehydrated. My eyes, skin, ears, nose and mouth are dehydrated and nothing changes this fact. A lifelong problem that I keep struggling with and no doctor has an answer or even responds to it. They don't know how I feel or play dumb.

"Don't whine, complain, you live with it for so long you know what to do."

Is it nagging when you can't open your eyes? If eyelids are glued to your eyeballs, you have fissures in your nose and mouth, skin that sounds like sandpaper, suffer from ear pain due to a lack of moisture and eye inflammation for the same reason. I drink and drink, walk up and down to the toilet, but drinking doesn't help. Thinking back, this is not a problem that just arose but it's going on for at least 25 years. A long time in which the pleasure slowly fades and staying alive, functioning a little bit, is the biggest battle. The question is why? Why should I bother?

"Hold on for a few more years", I promise myself, "in a few more years they will be fine, they have each other and the dogs... they died."

Blind as I am, I grab for the bottle of eye drops. My eyeballs feel strange behind the closed limbs. My fingers scrape, search for an opening, the bottle hits my eyeball. One drop is enough ... should be enough to open my eyes. It works but also runs down my face like a silent tear. The tears I've been missing for years. The bottle is almost empty and so am I. Empty. Old and forgotten by everyone. The useless human who can no longer do anything, locked up in memories and only the old dog still cares about.

#kittywu #freewrite #health #sjögren #elderlypeople

11
$ 13.30
$ 13.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
$ 0.01 from @BeardedCake
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Freewrite, People, Reality, 2021, ...

Comments

I read somewhere that the cold may have some effect on it but I'm not entirely sure since exposure to cold is basically like exposure to dry wind

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cold effects everything. Your joints, dehydration, dry eyes, etc etc. Cold gets into your bones they say and that's true. So does a humid air by the way. It's why many elderly leave to warmer countries once they are retired.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That last part actually made sense as to why more old people suddenly move to my country 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi everyone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just read about this condition that you have and it sounds so terrible, I can't even imagine what you would be going through. I am so sorry

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I cannot say I get used to it. It's what doctors say if there's no solution "you have to get used to it" but that eats energy. The energy I don't have. A good moment doesn't make it up but at least it's something. With me, many more suffer from the same. Sjögren disease isn't that rare at all. Thanks for reading and commenting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am sorry to ask, but what kind of medical condition do you have and is there anything you can do about it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One of the illnesses is Sjögren disease. See the tag. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

test just

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wondered if it's your story? 😢 It's just so lonely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not lonely but realism and yes it is. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now, I hope i won't grow old and feel like I don't have children. I won't oblige but I just hopr there is someone by my side to hold my hand when I can't stand on my own.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I count with the fact there will be no one. To be honest I do not like to suffer in the presence of others my children included. If I am in bed I am glad if I hear them having fun together. I hope someone holds your hand if you need it. 💕🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is your daily day to day?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, this is my daily day. At times it is way worse and once in a while I have a better moment. A moment I try to fix and make up what I wasn't able to do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago