Autumn - apple pie

17 42
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Today the Autumn holiday started. I woke up early and heard the kid in the living. I decided to stay in bed. It's warmer and there's no need to get out early so why not?
It took longer before I slept again. I thought about the surprise I need to finish, felt dizzy and after that the depression came. I wonder if it has to do with a lack of a certain hormone, vitamin or mineral. I feel better most likely thanks to the gluten-free diet but am taking fewer vitamins because altogether it costs too much plus I want to safe some for the winter. It doesn't mean I don't take them but just like my water/fluid intake it's reduced with about 60% lately.
Once I woke up the angry thoughts came over me like a cloud. It always happens if I do things automatically (in this case a game on my phone) like gardening. I always had it and it's good to discover yourself. For sure forgiveness isn't the same as forgetting and if you can'forget it stays with you. Something we all deal with especially those who claim they forgave... How hypocrites can be, we even lie to ourselves and ignore who we really are. Well, not me. I dragged me out of bed and got dressed. It's better to be active, stay active plus it doesn't rain. Time for the laundry. The youngest her bedsheets and all the white (school) clothes.
One of my daughters became ill and she went to work. "We need to wear a facemask anyway and I doubt it is the coronavirus. My symptoms are different, it's just the flu. The chef doesn't think either it is covid-19. It's the 4th day and I'm feeling better already I only need to catch up 3 days work which I am behind."
I assume this means working three days and nights?


I had a late breakfast with the last piece of gluten-free apple pie. I stuck to the old recipe just changed wheat flower into 50% cornflour and 50% spelled flour. The pie turned out to be great although, the oven let me down again. The children said they can't tell the difference (most likely because it's a long time ago I made apple pie).

To those who like to make it too.


Ingredients for the dough:
- 200 grams of real butter
- 100 grams of sugar
- 1 teaspoon salt
- 1 egg
- 100 grams of cornflour
- 100 grams of spelled flour

Make a dough out of it and if it's too sticky add some extra flour.
I cut the dough ball into slices (easy does it) to fill the baking mold.



Filling:
- 4-6 apples in small pieces
- cinnamon
- raisins if you like
- 1/2 egg to add at the top



1/3 of the dough is needed to close the pie.



Oven: 200Β°C - 40 minutes.
My oven only has a hear underneath and no thermostat. Usually you put an apple pie like this low in the oven. I shove it in the middle. After 40 minutes mine wasn't ready (the temperature dropped) and I added extra baking time. Because spelled flour isn't white and it's more difficult to see if it's colored, I used a stick to test the dough. After the baking time was up I left the apple pie in the oven to cool down. If you like you can add peach marmalade at the top. My granny did but it's too sweat for me. You can eat it with whipped cream if you like or sprinkle some powder sugar over the top.



More plans for today? Besides the laundry, feeding wolves and the surprise not really. I need to find a place to be undisturbed which isn't easy with the children at home and in a cold house. I must admit the more time passes by the more I need to motivate myself to start again, it's easier to write. On days I am just tired and this is one of these days. It's good to do not too much for a change although it doesn't feel like a holiday to me.

I made: corn cookies, chocolate corn cookies, ginger cookies (cornflour plus spelled flour), pancakes (cornflour and oatmeal) and even speculaas (spicy biscuits) and kruidnoten (spicy nuts) all gluten-free and as good as with wheat flour. Only the pancakes tasted different.

#kittywu #freewrite #glutenfree #applepie #recipe #autumn

10
$ 2.94
$ 2.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

I'll have a look @Jisan21. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm so hungry give me apple pie ❀. Well written dear , don't forget to back me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Apple Pie ;;-;; I'm hungrrrryyyyy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I could send you some. I check if the plane still leaves daily... don't die again please. Apple pie in pieces is better than you in pieces. πŸ€πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I won't die till I taste that pie. I'll be expecting it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was supposed to ask for the recipe until i read it til the end. Whats that spelled flour mean? I only know all purpose flour, bread flour and cake flour in hereπŸ€”.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spelled is flour made out of the seed of flowers and gluten-free too. I believe it's grown in China most and older than wheat (wheat = gluten).

I couldn't find buckwheat or rice flour. No idea if rice flour is possible too but if gluten are no problem to you, you can use wheat flour too (200 grams).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Apple pie is a love.. My all times favouriteπŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe you. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That looks appetizing ;;w;; put ice cream on top and it would be heaven!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, I don't thing ice cream will taste with this one but it does with "apfelstrudel" and so does custard. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I eat apple pie with vanilla ice cream on top though. The strudel is good too! Addas a unique crunch but never tried it with custard before. Might try that next time i get pie

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's common here in exclusive restaurant. Warm apfelstrudel with warm custard and whipped cream. Very delicious.

This apple pie it's dough is different from what you see in shops, at the baker, better plus the pieces of apple are not hard. I hate that. Strange how they frequently claim 'granny's apple pie' and it's not. At times I doubt the pie of the end of 1800 still exists. All chemicals.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it's homemade though, i do think it would still have that 1800 touch to it. I can only hope to get the money to buy a gas oven one day so that i can try baking treats i like, myself

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you can buy that oven. πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will soon when i get my first salary >w<

$ 0.00
3 years ago