Anatomy of a scandal

6 47
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Culture, Writing, Freewrite, 2022, Scandal, ...

This is about a topic that can be hotly debated which isn't my intention. I share my opinion about a Netflix series.

It took me some time to watch the miniseries 'Anatomy of a scandal'. I can't tell you why but for some reason it was easy to fall asleep while watching. Time passed, and I watched some other films and series and had things to do. Yesterday I decided to finally see how this series end. To be honest I forgot the first 3 parts which means I partly watched them again to remember (a great service of Netflix you don't need to watch everything again).

The scandal is all about a minister being accused of raping his former mistress

She's an ex because he ended the relationship. The incident took place in a lift in the Parliament building. Mr Whitehouse, the minister, was born with a golden spoon in his mouth. Perhaps you know this type? Everything is fine with him and his mother says: my son doesn't do that, but also tells her daughter-in-law how her son always cheated with games. Today we would call that a creative mind. Playing by the rules is not a sign of creativity or a free spirit, but of obediently following the rules.

The question is whether Mr Whitehouse is a rapist or the lady in question made up the story for revenge.

In the series, we see the two lawyers, as well as Whitehouse and flashbacks of the past.

Mr Whitehouse married his childhood (university) girlfriend and although he cheated on her, 'adultery is not a crime according to the lawyer. The wife is expected to be present at the court hearings to show her support for her adulterous husband who is portrayed as a rapist.

I wonder how much one can love someone if that person keeps lying and cheating on you. I miss the' love must come from both sides. I didn't hear once 'in a relationship, both parties have to invest' but although Mr Whitehouse is not an elderly man he has clearly been brought up in an old-fashioned way. He is allowed to misbehave because a Whitehouse is always on the top (is he a better species?) a slogan he also imprints on his son.

It is difficult to say whether a Whitehouse is always on top; it seems that his luck, and with it, the family's luck, has run out, as his wife puts it. Fair is fair I admire her in a way. If she were American I would think she was one of those 'populaire] girls with pumpkins cheering on the football team. In fact, I believe she is, and not very bright back then either, but she supports her husband and often manages to put on a friendly or cheerful face.

In one of the flashbacks, we see how this English lady during her time at university slyly manages to abuse her fellow student Holly by making her do her assignments. So I can safely say that Mrs Whitehouse was not a nice character and can be called self-centred. The perfect match for Mr Whitehouse who, in my opinion, is lucky to have such a loyal wife that puts him at the top while she loses herself if she ever was an individual at all?

While the trial continues (both advocates are strong, and it is interesting to see how neat the language of the English advocate is, would that be because of the wig?)ugliness from the past is showing.

In the meanwhile, Tom, the prime minister, supports his friend and the party is not happy with that.

It is clear that even when it comes to ministers, they are not innocent until proven guilty. The question of what happened in the past, and why the PM does not drop his best friend becomes clear only at the end of this miniseries, the moment before the jury announces whether Mr Whitehouse is guilty or not.

Mr Whitehouse is charming and has an arrogance that is not attractive to everyone and I am one of them.

The man is fake. I can't help feeling pity for his children and somewhere I also feel uncomfortable with the fact that there is an aupair in the house. I wonder how that girl feels in the vicinity of Mr Whitehouse.

When Mrs Whitehouse talks to her aupair and asks if her husband is a good man, Krystyna replies: he is a man.

This would set off alarm bells for me.

I don't like statements like 'boys are boys, 'he is just a man' or 'he can't help because all boys/men do such things'.

Parents who justify the misbehaviour of their sons, the society that does this, should be ashamed of themselves. I am not saying that there are no cunning women, that every female is honest and that there are no women who lie about being raped but am saying that there are multiple standards. Rich and wealthy can do what they want, men can cheat with impunity, and "when the trial is over, it's back to business as usual," says grandma Whitehouse (when she says this to her daughter-in-law, I wonder not only what she stole from her son but also if she doesn't see her daughter-in-law's reaction). If we raise boys wrong, applaud if they lie, cheat, steal, rape and even applaud, call it a male thing to do we parents do something seriously wrong.

It means nothing it was just sex, is a phrase the cheater said. Just sex doesn't last 5 months! Just sex is rarely accepted if a woman has it.

How blind must one be to not recognise body language?

Although both the ex-lovers say in their statement that they know each other's body language, I, unfortunately, do not hear either of the lawyers remarking or asking what body language was involved when the rape took place. Does it take a clear NO, screaming, before it can be said that what started out as a friendly, passionate experience ended in a rape? What about the upbringing of the different generations? How many women have been taught to say NO? How many women have been taught to just let 'it' happen? How many women have been told that the man has all the rights and how many have been told that shouting, and defending yourself does not help and that it is better to let it happen because then 'it' will be over faster?

Why is it that the average man does not even notice that his wife or girlfriend is lying, doing things she does not want to do and freezes when he touches her?

Lawyer Kate feels personally very involved and as the trial continues, Mr Whitehouse's past is also searched, the time when he went to university.

Although the past is not dredged up in court it is revived for those involved. The memories are clear, links are made and steps are taken so that justice is still done in the country where a Whitehouse is always at the top.

Long story short: the characters are good and if you don't fall asleep like me watch it and share your opinion about the 'sorry', 'just sex', the lying, cheating and norms and values important to you.

Lesson? Never trust a politician and be you first before you commit to someone and never, ever give an alibi if you don't know what's going on.

#kittywu #netflix #anatomy #scandal #crime #justice

10
$ 7.98
$ 7.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Culture, Writing, Freewrite, 2022, Scandal, ...

Comments

Seems so nice. I'll make sure to watch it when I can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let me know if you did. 🍀💖

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was thinking about watching this but I always seem to find something else to watch first...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same happens to me. I watch 3-4 series and next something else in-between if I bump into it. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it is one of the series that is in my queue. I like the way the story reveals how the world portrays what IS. It does not mean it is right but it is the reality of this world.

I am finidng it hard to continue though the trial is heavy. I am curious however how it will end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It ends like expected. Famous and rich is right although he lied. In the very end he and his PM friend are arrested for what happened in the past. You can watch the end. 🍀💖

$ 0.00
1 year ago