Step outside your comfort zone despite your fears

2 30
Avatar for vinnieflores
1 year ago

Last week, perhaps for the first time, I had the opportunity to take a short walk in a deserted forest. I love being in nature, I do hiking routinely, but until now I have mostly done it in areas where there are people. When I had the opportunity, I started walking towards the forest on a whim.

There was no one around; just me, the trees, the wind, insects and the landscape. On the one hand I admire the view, on the other hand I listen to the sound of the trees accompanied by the wind. Suddenly the smell of pine in my nose enchants me. On the other hand, with every step I take, questions such as "What if I come across a large animal, is it safe to be here alone?" trigger my fears. But I love being in nature and having this experience and I continue my steps.

That day I realized once again that the greatest rewards come when you take a step "despite" your fears. It is only when you take a step despite your fears that you can be alone with nature, only when you take a step despite your fears that you can breathe in that wonderful pine scent, only when you take a step despite your fears that you can listen to the concert given by the trees under the direction of the wind. Only when you take a step despite your fears do you truly LIVE!

This is the same in every aspect of life. Yes, there is fear and it is real. So, what do you choose to do with this fear? Continue to live a life in a cage made of your fears, far from your authentic self? Or do you see your fears, accept them and take steps "in spite" of them?

Fear is a tool to get out of your comfort zone. For those who can use it. Usually the things you fear the most are actually the things you want to do the most. When the inner you is more free, even if it doesn't feel good for you, the idea of getting away from your city, your job, your toxic relationships scares you and you continue to live in that comfort zone. Until you reach a point where it is no longer bearable.

Only at that point do you realize, "This is not what I want, I deserve better, I want to be a freer person". And with the courage that comes at that last point, you take a step out of your comfort zone "in spite" of your fear and you move into a new world. This place is more spacious, the colors are more vibrant, you feel lighter, as if you have left your burdens behind. This lightness also makes it easier for you to take new steps.

Once you step into that new world, you realize that fear shrinks, maybe even disappears. Because fear is like a dark cave. Once you light the lantern inside it, it lights up. Whether fear will shrink or disappear completely depends on the size of the cave and the power of your flashlight.

When you look back from that new world, out of the corner of your eye, you wonder how you lived there for so many years. It's as if the world you have just passed through is a place you have always known deep down inside. It reflects your authentic self more. In fact, this was who you were, but your fear was shading the light inside you like a shell around you. With the step you took, that shell began to dissolve!

When I returned from my forest walk, I took a pine cone with me as a souvenir to remind me of those sensations. I hope that you will remember a time when you had the courage to take that step or that you will take that step soon. I wish that you will remember those sensations, how much taking that step has expanded and lightened you before. And I wish that in the next moment of fear, you make space for it to show you the way to take that step.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for vinnieflores
1 year ago

Comments

From reading the title itself, it really got me! I'm still just roaming around my comfort zone and letting my fears controlled my emotions and well-being.

(Deep Sighs)... Am I taking too much time now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for the comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago